Don't Sing at the Table (Hardcover)

Life Lessons from My Grandmothers

By Adriana Trigiani

Harper, 9780061958946, 224pp.

Publication Date: November 9, 2010

List Price: 22.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

"No one ever reads just one of Trigiani’s wonderfully quirky tales. Once you pick up the first, you are hooked.” —BookPage

New York Times bestselling author Adriana Trigiani shares a treasure trove of insight and guidance from her two grandmothers: time-tested, common sense advice on the most important aspects of a woman’s life, from childhood to the golden years. Seamlessly blending anecdote with life lesson, Don’t Sing at the Table tells the two vibrant women’s real-life stories—how they fell in love, nurtured their marriages, balanced raising children with being savvy businesswomen, and reinvented themselves with each new decade. For readers of Big Stone Gap, Very Valentine, Lucia, Lucia, and Rococo, this loving memoir is the Trigiani family recipe for chicken soup for the soul



Praise For Don't Sing at the Table: Life Lessons from My Grandmothers

“Best-selling author Trigiani (Very Valentine) presents a loving paean to her Italian grandmothers... there is much warmth in these remembrances that will resonate with readers who enjoyed strong relationships with their own grandparents and know the value they can bring to our lives.”

“[C]harming… comforting lessons for readers seeking a simpler way of life.”

“Soothingly and with clarity…. Readers will find her strength and optimism helpful, and her legions of loyal fans will enjoy learning more about the women who influenced, inspired, and, according to Trigiani, made possible some of her best-selling fiction.”

“Trigiani combines family and American history, reflections on lives well-lived, and sound advice to excellent effect, as a legacy to her daughter and a remembrance of two inimitable women.”

“One of the reigning queens of women’s fiction.”

“Delightful, energetic. . . . Trigiani is a seemingly effortless storyteller.”

“Trigiani has certainly not lost her ability to breathe life into everything she writes.”

“Well crafted work with sometime lyrical, sometimes flat-out-funny writing.”

“Adriana Trigiani listens to her readers, then gives them what they want. ”

“Dazzling.”