The Familiars (Paperback)

By Adam Jay Epstein, Andrew Jacobson

HarperCollins, 9780061961106, 384pp.

Publication Date: June 7, 2011

List Price: 6.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Autumn 2010 Kids' Next List

“Aldwyn the clever alley cat, Skylar, the skeptical blue jay, and Gilbert, the insecure tree frog are drawn together when they must save their Loyals from a corrupt Queen. In this spellbinding romp each proves their worth and finds their own magic. Perhaps the Familiars are destined to lead? In their debut novel Adam and Andrew have touches of the animal quest of Incredible Journey combined with the magic of Harry Potter and the animal charm of Charlotte's Web. This reader will be waiting impatiently for the rest of the promised trilogy.-- Shirley Mullin, Kids Ink, Children's Bookstore, Indianapolis, IN”
— Shirley Mullin, Kids Ink, Indianapolis, IN
View the List

Description

For fans of Warriors and The Magic Thief comes a magical adventure story about a street cat who's mistaken for a wizard’s familiar.

When Aldwyn, a young alley cat on the run, ducks into a mysterious pet shop, he doesn’t expect his life to change. But that’s exactly what happens when Jack, a young wizard in training, picks Aldwyn to be his magical familiar.

Finally off the tough streets, Aldwyn thinks he’s got it made. He just has to convince the other familiars—the know-it-all blue jay Skylar and the friendly tree frog Gilbert—that he’s the telekinetic cat he claims to be. But when Jack and two other wizards in training are captured by the evil queen, Aldwyn will have to use all of his street smarts, a few good friends, and a nose for adventure to save the day!

And don’t miss the exciting sequel to this Indie Next List pick, The Familiars: Secrets of the Crown.



About the Author

Adam Jay Epstein spent his childhood in Great Neck, New York, while Andrew Jacobson grew up in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, but the two met in Los Angeles. They have been writing together for film and television ever since.

Their interest in space dates back to their early years, when Adam attended Space Academy in Huntsville, Alabama (and won the Right Stuff Award!), and Andrew went to a movie theater (for the first time) to see a rerelease of Star Wars.

Adam Jay Epstein lives in Los Angeles with his wife, Jane, and their daughters, Penny and Olive. Andrew Jacobson, his wife, Ashley, their son, Ryder, their daughter, Willa, and their two dogs live close by.



Adam Jay Epstein spent his childhood in Great Neck, New York, while Andrew Jacobson grew up in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, but the two met in Los Angeles. They have been writing together for film and television ever since.

Their interest in space dates back to their early years, when Adam attended Space Academy in Huntsville, Alabama (and won the Right Stuff Award!), and Andrew went to a movie theater (for the first time) to see a rerelease of Star Wars.

Adam Jay Epstein lives in Los Angeles with his wife, Jane, and their daughters, Penny and Olive. Andrew Jacobson, his wife, Ashley, their son, Ryder, their daughter, Willa, and their two dogs live close by.



Praise For The Familiars

“This series opener won’t disappoint. The consistently suspenseful narrative moves quickly and is full of twists and turns. This winning combination of action and humor will keep readers turning pages right up to the ending.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Screenwriters Epstein and Jacobson’s children’s book debut is a grand adventure with entertaining characters and magic-induced fun, written in an appropriately cinematic style.”
— Publishers Weekly

“The Familiars combines the magic of Harry Potter and the adventure of Warriors into an enchanting story readers will love. Whether furry [like Aldwyn], flippered [like Gilbert] or feathered [like Skylar] you’ll be taking a closer look at your family pet.”
— Michael Buckley, author of The Sisters Grimm and NERDS

“Kids who love animal stories, adventure, fantasy and good humored friendship will be waiting impatiently for the next book in this rich and fantastical trilogy. So get familiar with the Familiars!”
— Becky Anderson, Anderson's Bookshop