Someone Else's Garden (Paperback)

A Novel

By Dipika Rai

Harper Perennial, 9780062000354, 400pp.

Publication Date: February 1, 2011

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (1/1/2012)
Paperback (3/1/2011)

List Price: 13.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In the vein of Thrity Umrigar’s The Space Between Us, Dipika Rai’s soulful debut novel is a moving multi-generational tale of mothers and daughters in rural India struggling to break free of the social traditions fencing them in. Standing out among works by Shobhan Bantwal, Chitra Divakaruni, and other emerging Indian writers, Rai’s Someone Else’s Garden offers a rare look at life in the Indian countryside, far from the more well-trafficked literary settings of New Delhi and Mumbai, in an evocative, atmospheric story of one woman’s soulful fight to take control of her life.


About the Author

Dipika Rai was born, raised, and educated in India. She worked as a freelance journalist for many years, writing for various publications around the globe. She divides her time between India and the island of Bali, where she lives with her husband, two children, and her devoted pets. This is her first novel.



Praise For Someone Else's Garden: A Novel

“Beautifully written. . . . [With] depth of feeling.”
Publishers Weekly

“A brave and ambitious first novel set in rural India, Someone Else’s Garden deals frankly with the brutality faced by many women and tells the story of how one woman achieves redemption.”
— Sam Miller, author of Delhi, Adventures in a Megacity

“Dipika Rai turns rural India into a setting for an epic tale of love and loss that feels timeless and familiar.”
— Jamal Mahjoub, author of The Drift Latitudes and Travelling with Djinns

“In the manner of Rohinton Mistry’s A Fine Balance, this is a multigenerational tale of Indian life. . . . A universal story of good-versus-evil and tradition-versus-modernity as well as of the redemptive power of belief.”
— Booklist