More Like Her (Paperback)

A Novel

By Liza Palmer

William Morrow Paperbacks, 9780062007469, 336pp.

Publication Date: April 17, 2012

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (1/1/2012)

List Price: 14.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A brilliant, hilarious, and touching story from the author of Conversations with the Fat Girl, Liza Palmer’s More Like Her is smart, funny, though-provoking women’s fiction in the vein of Emily Giffin, Marian Keyes, Meg Cabot, and Jane Green. More Like Her is the story of a seemingly perfect woman who’s the envy of her friends, neighbors, and co-workers…until the life of the object of their jealousy spectacularly, unexpectedly, and disastrously explodes. A novel of secrets, disappointments, false impressions—and what really goes on behind those suburban picket fences—More Like Her is ultimately about facing reality and appreciating everything that life has to offer.


About the Author

Liza Palmer is the internationally bestselling author of Conversations with the Fat Girl, Seeing Me Naked, A Field Guide to Burying Your Parents, More Like Her, and Nowhere but Home. An Emmy-nominated writer, she lives in Los Angeles, and is hard at work on her next novel and several film and television projects.



Praise For More Like Her: A Novel

The blend of humor and sadness is realistic and gripping, and watching Frannie figure out who she is and what matters is gratifying. This will appeal to those who enjoy Jodi Picoult along with chick lit fans willing to read something a little darker.
— Library Journal (starred review)

This is sharp, funny, clever and very romantic. The story, about a young woman downsizing her expectations in the wake of a tragedy, might not be new, but Palmer’s handling of it is surprisingly fresh and engaging.
— Mirror (London)

The book is a well-plotted examination of domestic violence, chasing unattainable dreams and hiding one’s real self. The dialogue is sparky, the characters engaging and this is by all means a great read.
— Daily Mail (London)

“Palmer’s dialogue is reliably natural and funny, and her insights into the way women betray their true selves in search of acceptance are keen and honest.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Palmer takes what could be a standard chick-lit story about finding oneself and adds emotional depth through this shockingly violent act. While Palmer’s characters find happiness and closure by the final page, readers will ponder this surprising story for a good, long time.”
— Booklist

“Palmer brings wit and wisdom to her tale of love, damage and self-acceptance”
— Kirkus Reviews