An Eagle Named Freedom: My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship (Paperback)

My True Story of a Remarkable Friendship

By Jeff Guidry

Harper Paperbacks, 9780062015501, 212pp.

Publication Date: August 16, 2011

May 2010 Indie Next List

“An Eagle Named Freedom is a book that will make your heart soar. It is a first person account of a volunteer working in an animal rehabilitation center who nurses an eaglet, who will never be able to fly because of serious injuries to his wing, back to health and their special bond- one that will later support him in his own journey back to health from a life threatening illness. The book affirms the spiritual connections that we share with animals. It is also a testimony to the importance of being respectful of the wildness in birds and animals so they can live their lives fully. Inspirational, informative and fun, An Eagle Named Freedom is a joy to read.”
— Fran Keilty, Hickory Stick Bookshop, Washington Depot, CT
View the List
Advertisement

Description

"A hauntingly beautiful story of rescue and rehabilitation.... A] gorgeous tale of redemption."
--Susan Richards, New York Times bestselling author of Chosen by a Horse

"I could not put this book down."
--Stacey O'Brien, New York Times bestselling author of Wesley the Owl

In the tradition of A Lion Called Christian and Alex and Me comes An Eagle Named Freedom, Jeff Guidry's remarkable story of how he rehabilitated a severely damaged bald eagle back to health--and how the majestic bird later inspired the author to triumph over cancer. Animal lovers and readers fascinated by the spiritual ties between animals and humans will not soon forget this beautiful, inspiring true tale of an extraordinary friendship.

Advertisement