Spycatcher (Hardcover)

A Will Cochrane Novel

By Matthew Dunn

William Morrow, 9780062037671, 432pp.

Publication Date: August 9, 2011

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (8/8/2011)
Mass Market (1/31/2012)
Paperback, Large Print (8/9/2011)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (9/1/2011)

List Price: 25.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

September 2011 Indie Next List

“At last! Here is an espionage thriller that is as suspenseful as Forsyth's Day of the Jackal, as cunning as le Carre's Little Drummer Girl, and as relevant as the front page of today's newspaper. Let's hope this is just the first of many more novels by this obviously multitalented former MI6 agent!”
— Ellen Klein, Hooray for Books!, Alexandria, VA
View the List

Description

“Great talent, great imagination, and real been-there done-that authenticity make this one of the year’s best thriller debuts.”
—Lee Child

“Not since Fleming charged Bond with the safety of the world has the international secret agent mystique been so anchored with an insider’s reality.”
—Noah Boyd, New York Times bestselling author of Agent X and The Bricklayer

“A real spy proves he is a real writer—and a truly deft and inventive one. Spycatcher is a stunning debut.”
—Ted Bell, New York Times bestselling author of Warlord

A real life former field officer, Matthew Dunn makes an extraordinary debut with Spycatcher, a masterwork of international espionage fiction that crackles with electrifying authenticity. Fans of Daniel Silva, Robert Ludlum, Brad Thor, and Vince Flynn will be on the edge of their seats as intelligence agent Will Cochrane—working on a joint covert mission for the CIA and MI6—sets out to capture a brilliant and ruthless Iranian spy. Timely and gripping, Spycatcher rockets the reader into a shadowy world of terrorism and counter-terrorism, and holds them in an iron grip until the last pulse-pounding page is turned.



About the Author

As an MI6 field officer, Matthew Dunn recruited and ran agents, coordinated and participated in special operations, and acted in deep-cover roles throughout the world. He operated in environments where, if captured, he would have been executed. Dunn was trained in all aspects of intelligence collection, deep- cover deployments, small arms, explosives, military unarmed combat, surveillance, and infiltration.

Medals are never awarded to modern MI6 officers, but Dunn was the recipient of a rare personal commendation from the secretary of state for work he did on one mission, which was deemed so significant that it directly influenced the success of a major international incident.

During his time in MI6, Matthew conducted approximately seventy missions. All of them were successful. He currently lives in England, where he is at work on his next novel.



Praise For Spycatcher: A Will Cochrane Novel

“Great talent, great imagination, and real been-there done-that authenticity make this one of the year’s best thriller debuts. Highly recommended.”
— Lee Child

“Not since Fleming charged Bond with the safety of the world has the international secret agent mystique been so anchored with an insider’s reality. The pacing in Matthew Dunn’s Spycatcher is frenetic, and the plotting is meticulous as it continually doubles back on itself.”
— Noah Boyd, author of Agent X and The Bricklayer

“Once in a while an espionage novelist comes along who has the smack of utter authenticity. Few are as daring as Matthew Dunn, fewer still as up-to-date. This isn’t the Cold War, this isn’t even the last ten years, it’s the CIA and MI6 as they are now.”
— John Lawton, author of A Lily of the Field and Black Out