Once (Eve #2) (Hardcover)

By Anna Carey

HarperCollins, 9780062048547, 368pp.

Publication Date: July 3, 2012

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (7/2/2012)
Paperback (4/2/2013)
Paperback, Spanish (3/31/2013)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In this breathless sequel to Eve, Anna Carey returns to her tale of romance, adventure, and sacrifice in a world that is both wonderfully strange and chillingly familiar, perfect for fans of The Handmaiden’s Tale.

When you’re being hunted, who can you trust?

For the first time since escaping from her School, Eve can finally sleep soundly. She is living in Califia, protected from the terrifying fate that awaits orphaned girls in The New America in the year 2041. But she was forced to abandon Caleb, the boy she loves, wounded and alone at Califia’s gates. When Eve gets word that Caleb is in trouble, she sets out into the wild again to rescue him, only to be captured and brought to the City of Sand. Trapped inside the city walls, Eve uncovers a shocking secret about her past—and must confront the harsh reality of her future.



About the Author

Anna Carey graduated from New York University and has an MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. She lives in Los Angeles.



Praise For Once (Eve #2)

“A gripping, unforgettable adventure—and a fresh look at what it means to love.”
— Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of FALLEN on EVE.

“A thoughtful, heart–wrenching, and romantic book that I inhaled in one sitting.”
— Cynthia Hand, New York Times bestselling author of Hallowed

“Carey…keeps pages flipping throughout most of the story…[and] the sudden, menacing ending ought to propel readers to the next book in the series.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Eve again narrates, savvier and stronger, with plentiful backstory and former characters appearing. [ONCE] remains an exciting page–turner for female readers.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“Eve’s first–person, intimately detailed narrative—which incorporates suspense, romance, and fantasy elements—make this dystopian fiction an absorbing, well–paced read.”
— Booklist