Skip to main content
Cover for He Said, She Said

He Said, She Said

Kwame Alexander

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (6/27/2019)
Paperback (11/18/2014)

Description

Sparks will fly in this hip-hop-hot teen novel that mixes social protest and star-crossed romance, from Newbery Medal and Coretta Scott King Honor–winning author Kwame Alexander! He Said, She Said is perfect for fans of Walter Dean Myers and Rachel Vail alike.

He says: Omar "T-Diddy" Smalls has got it made—a full football ride to UMiami, hero-worship status at school, and pick of any girl at West Charleston High. She says: Football, shmootball. Here's what Claudia Clarke cares about: Harvard, the poor, the disenfranchised, the hungry, the staggering teen pregnancy rate, investigative journalism . . . the list goes on. She does not have a minute to waste on Mr. T-Diddy Smalls and his harem of bimbos.

He Said, She Said is a fun and fresh novel from Kwame Alexander that throws these two high school seniors together when they unexpectedly end up leading the biggest social protest this side of the Mississippi—with a lot of help from Facebook and Twitter. The stakes are high, the romance is hot, and when these worlds collide, watch out!



Praise For He Said, She Said

“This lively romance has humor and heart.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Claudia and Omar, with their entertaining and distinctive narrative voices, are a couple worth rooting for in this lighthearted, socially conscious romance.” — Horn Book Magazine

“A fiery and funny romance with an undercurrent of social justice and awareness.” — Publishers Weekly

“Alexander’s hip-hop narration...is positively lyrical. A story contemporary students will really relate to and enjoy.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Amistad Books for Young Readers, 9780062118967, 336pp.

Publication Date: November 19, 2013



About the Author

Kwame Alexander is the New York Times Bestselling author of 32 books, including The Undefeated; How to Read a Book; Solo; Swing; Rebound, which was shortlisted for prestigious Carnegie Medal; and his Newbery medal-winning middle grade novel, The Crossover. He’s also the founding editor of Versify, an imprint that aims to Change the World One Word at a Time. Visit him at KwameAlexander.com