House of Ivy & Sorrow (Paperback)

By Natalie Whipple

HarperTeen, 9780062120182, 368pp.

Publication Date: April 15, 2014

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Transparent author Natalie Whipple is back with another refreshing blend of realistic romance and light-hearted humor with a one-of-a-kind paranormal touch. Fans of Charmed, Kiersten White's Paranormalcy trilogy, and Maggie Stiefvater's The Raven Boys won't want to miss this spellbinding contemporary tale of magic, first love, and high-stakes danger.

Jo Hemlock is not your typical witch. Outside the walls of her grandmother's ivy-covered house, she's kept her magical life completely separate from her life in high school. But when the Curse that killed her mother resurfaces, it threatens to destroy not only her life but her grandmother's too—and keeping her secret may no longer be an option.



About the Author

Natalie Whipple loves testing new concoctions in the kitchen, and sometimes pretends she's actually mixing potions instead. Her food has yet to curse anyone, which she supposes is a good thing. Along with cooking, Natalie loves anime, kdrama, drawing, and exercising (so she can eat more food). She lives in Utah with her three kids and husband.



Praise For House of Ivy & Sorrow

“A wonderful, dark tale of witches who feel all too human. Loved it!”
— Aprilynne Pike, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Wings series

“Heartwarming, dangerous, and enchanting: Natalie Whipple’s HOUSE OF IVY & SORROW offers a delicious tale filled with sacrifice, a terrifying villain, and so many people I’d love to call friends. It’s better than pudding!”
— Jodi Meadows, author of Incarnate

“A magical, entertaining world that has the right amount of darkness to keep the story intriguing and the right amount of light to keep readers content.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“A fast-paced fantasy, with just the right amount of romance and realism.”
— SLJ

“True to the potential of teen witches, Jo is no shrinking violet. She knows what she must do, she is tough, and she has the magical skills to do what needs to be done. Thank goodness the witching hour has come back to young adult literature.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“A delightfully different, suspenseful YA escape.”
— ALA Booklist