Arclight (Hardcover)

By Josin L. McQuein

Greenwillow Books, 9780062130143, 416pp.

Publication Date: April 23, 2013

Spring '13 Kids List

“This is a page-turner of dystopian fiction unlike anything I've ever read. A stunning debut novel, there's a reality throughout this work that one doesn't usually find in science fiction aimed at adolescents. So much more than just an 'entertainment for young people,' this story of identity and the courage found when one faces one's worst nightmares deserves a very wide audience.”
— Keri Rojas, Cornerstone Cottage Kids, Hampton, IA
View the List
Advertisement

Description

A harrowing sci-fi thriller that #1 New York Times bestselling author Pittacus Lore proclaimed "Powerful and gripping." This bold and astonishing novel about identity, unnerving connections, tortured romance, and facing our worst nightmares is made for fans of Veronica Roth, Stephen King, and Justin Cronin.

The Arclight is the last refuge in a post-apocalyptic world consumed by terrifying creatures called the Fade. No one crosses the wall of light that keeps the last human survivors safe. There's nothing else left and nowhere to go. Or so they thought, until Marina, a lone teenage girl, stumbles out of the Dark.

Marina doesn't remember who she is, where she came from, or how she survived. And the Fade want her back. When one of them infiltrates the compound and recognizes Marina, she begins to unlock secrets she didn't even know she had. Marina knows she's an outsider, but she'll do anything to protect those who saved her. Whether they want her help or not.

Advertisement