The Whole Golden World (Paperback)

A Novel

By Kristina Riggle

William Morrow Paperbacks, 9780062206459, 448pp.

Publication Date: November 5, 2013

List Price: 14.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Kristina Riggle, the acclaimed author of Real Life & Liars, returns with a thought-provoking novel inspired by real-life events

Seventeen-year-old Morgan Monetti shocks her parents and her community with one simple act: She chooses to stand by the man everyone else believes has exploited her—popular high school teacher TJ Hill. Quietly walking across a crowded courtroom to sit behind TJ, and not beside her parents, she announces herself as the adult she believes herself to be.

But her mother, Dinah, wants justice. Dinah is a fighter, and she believes with all her heart and soul that TJ is a man who took advantage of her daughter. He is a criminal who should be brought to justice, no matter what the cost to his family.

Rain, TJ's wife, is shocked that her handsome, loving, respected husband has been accused of a terrible crime. But has her desperation to start a family closed her eyes to the fault lines in her marriage? And can she face the painful truths about herself and her husband?

Told from the perspectives of these three remarkable women, The Whole Golden World navigates the precarious territory between childhood and adulthood, raising questions about love and manipulation, marriage and motherhood, consent and responsibility. It's a novel both shocking and unforgettable in its power.



About the Author

Kristina Riggle is a published short story writer and coeditor for fiction at the e-zine Literary Mama. She lives in Grand Rapids, Michigan, with her husband, two kids, and dog.



Praise For The Whole Golden World: A Novel

“Love, loyalty and the murky nature of the truth, are at the fracturing heart of this astonishing novel about culpability, desire, and the ways we choose to see our world. Just breathtakingly good.”
— Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You and Is This Tomorrow

“Kristina Riggle evokes characters so real that they are unforgettable in this compelling and absorbing story about predators, victims, and survival.”
— Priscille Sibley, author of The Promise of Stardust

“THE WHOLE GOLDEN WORLD is an engrossing coming-of-age story-- a complex portrayal of the hazy line between youth and adulthood, vulnerability and strength. It is a captivating story from start to finish.”
— Rebecca Coleman, author of THE KINGDOM OF CHILDHOOD

“In The Whole Golden World, Kristina Riggle sets complex characters on a heart-wrenching collision course--the result is an engrossing and unflinching story about the ways our choices affect individuals, families, and entire communities.”
— Meg Donohue, author of ALL THE SUMMER GIRLS

“Kristina Riggle writes women’s fiction with soul.”
— Tiffany Baker, New York Times bestselling author

“A stunning, ripped-from-the-headlines tale of the intersecting lives of three very different women. THE WHOLE GOLDEN WORLD showcases Riggle’s masterful ability to raise important questions about fidelity, deception, and truth - and make us question our own answers to them.”
— Sarah Pekkanen, internationally bestselling author of THE BEST OF US

“Told from the viewpoints of these three strong women, this work is an intriguing look at an issue that strikes fear in the hearts of many parents. It is sure to attract fans of Jodi Picoult’s “ripped from the headlines” novels.”
— Library Journal

“Riggle masterfully unfolds the families’ stories with just the right pace, tone, and drama, uncovering plenty of family secrets and emotional struggles without making it a soap opera. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Barbara Delinsky will devour this story.”
— Booklist