New Kid (Paperback)

By Tim Green

HarperCollins, 9780062208736, 336pp.

Publication Date: March 3, 2015

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (3/4/2014)

List Price: 7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

New York Times bestselling author Tim Green delivers another exciting baseball tale that will keep kids on the edge of their seats. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica.

Tommy Rust is a pro at being the new kid. So when his dad marches onto his baseball field, he knows that time is up. In his new town, he goes by the name Brock, and he's having a hard time fitting in. And being friends with the bully from the wrong side of the tracks isn’t helping. But thanks to a prank gone wrong, the baseball coach of the travel-team notices Brock’s skills and offers him a place on his failing baseball team. But can Brock prove himself on and off the field before he strikes out and becomes the new kid…again?



About the Author

Tim Green, for many years a star defensive end with the Atlanta Falcons, is a man of many talents. He's the author of such gripping books for adults as the New York Times bestselling The Dark Side of the Game and American Outrage. Tim graduated covaledictorian from Syracuse University and was a first-round draft pick. He later earned his law degree with honors, and he has also worked as an NFL commentator for FOX Sports and NPR.

His first book for young readers, Football Genius, inspired in part by his players and his own kids, became a New York Times bestseller and was followed by Football Hero, Football Champ, The Big Time, and Deep Zone. He drew on his experiences playing and coaching Little League for Rivals and Pinch Hit and two more New York Times bestsellers: Baseball Great and Best of the Best.

Bestselling author Jon Scieszka called Tim Green's Unstoppable, a book about a boy's struggle with cancer that debuted at #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, "Absolutely heroic. And something every guy should read."

Tim Green lives with his wife, Illyssa, and their five children in upstate New York.



Praise For New Kid

“Exciting, romantic and thought-provoking, this book scores a home run. ”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Engrossing.”
— The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books