The Keepers (Hardcover)

The Box and the Dragonfly

By Ted Sanders, Iacopo Bruno (Illustrator)

HarperCollins, 9780062275820, 544pp.

Publication Date: March 3, 2015

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Experience the fantastic adventure filled with magical objects, secret sects, and life as we know it on the line! Mixing magic and physics, Ted Sanders has created an epic story that has the feel of classic fantasy but twists it into something new and innovative.

From the moment Horace F. Andrews sees the sign from the bus—a sign with his own name on it—everything changes. The sighting leads him underground, to the House of Answers, a hidden warehouse full of mysterious objects. But there, he finds only questions. What is this curious place? Who are the strange, secretive people who entrust him with a rare and immensely powerful gift? And what is he to do with it?

When Horace finds the Box of Promises in the curio shop, he quickly discovers that ordinary-looking objects can hold extraordinary power. From the enormous, sinister man shadowing him to the gradual mastery of his newfound abilities to his encounters with Chloe—a girl who has an astonishing talent of her own—Horace follows a path that puts the pair in the middle of a centuries-old conflict between two warring factions in which every decision they make could have disastrous consequences. 

Experience the fantastic adventure filled with magical objects, secret sects, and life as we know it on the line! Mixing magic and physics, Ted Sanders has created an epic story that has the feel of classic fantasy but twists it into something new and innovative.

From the moment Horace F. Andrews sees the sign from the bus—a sign with his own name on it—everything changes. The sighting leads him underground, to the House of Answers, a hidden warehouse full of mysterious objects. But there, he finds only questions. What is this curious place? Who are the strange, secretive people who entrust him with a rare and immensely powerful gift? And what is he to do with it?

When Horace finds the Box of Promises in the curio shop, he quickly discovers that ordinary-looking objects can hold extraordinary power. From the enormous, sinister man shadowing him to the gradual mastery of his newfound abilities to his encounters with Chloe—a girl who has an astonishing talent of her own—Horace follows a path that puts the pair in the middle of a centuries-old conflict between two warring factions in which every decision they make could have disastrous consequences. 



Praise For The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly

“A winding fantasy adventure that will appeal to readers of J. K. Rowling and Rick Riordan.”

“An epic adventure of self-discovery, magic, tragedy and blurred lines of loyalty for middle-grade lovers of fantasy.”

“The magical world is full of detail and wonder. Fans of Harry Potter and Gregor the Overlander will find this one entertaining.”

“Sanders uses mystery, action, and suspense to intrigue readers. A rousing start for the Keepers series.”

“Ted Sanders combines elements of the best classic fantasy adventures with ingenious twists that are all his own.”

The Keepers is a wildly original adventure, electric-paced and brain-bending, that will enthrall kids and adults alike. It’s more than a fantasy, building physics and folklore into its search to answer questions about whether true magic can ever exist.”