Love, Africa: A Memoir of Romance, War, and Survival (Hardcover)

A Memoir of Romance, War, and Survival

By Jeffrey Gettleman

Harper, 9780062284099, 336pp.

Publication Date: May 16, 2017

Advertisement

Description

From Jeffrey Gettleman, a Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times journalist, comes a passionate, revealing story about finding love and finding a calling, set against one of the most turbulent regions in the world.


A seasoned war correspondent, Jeffrey Gettleman has covered every major conflict over the past twenty years, from Afghanistan to Iraq to the Congo. For the past decade, he has served as the East Africa bureau chief for the New York Times, fulfilling a teenage dream.


At nineteen, Gettleman fell in love, twice. On a do-it-yourself community service trip in college, he went to East Africa--a terrifying, exciting, dreamlike part of the world in the throes of change that imprinted itself on his imagination and on his heart.


But around that same time he also fell in love with a fellow Cornell student--the brightest, classiest, most principled woman he'd ever met. To say they were opposites was an understatement. She became a criminal lawyer in America; he hungered to return to Africa. For the next decade he would be torn between these two abiding passions.


A sensually rendered coming-of-age story in the tradition of Barbarian Days, Love, Africa is a tale of passion, violence, far-flung adventure, tortuous long-distance relationships, screwing up, forgiveness, parenthood, and happiness that explores the power of finding yourself in the most unexpected of places.



Book Videos

Advertisement