A Legend of Starfire (Hardcover)

By Marissa Burt

HarperCollins, 9780062291585, 400pp.

Publication Date: October 18, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (8/22/2017)
MP3 CD (7/2/2019)

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The rhymes of Mother Goose meet A Wrinkle in Time in this sequel to A Sliver of Stardust, from Marissa Burt, the author of Storybound.

The Land of Nod used to be just a name in a nursery rhyme to Wren. But when she discovered the secret magic of stardust, she learned that some of those rhymes had secrets of their own—and the Land of Nod is real.

A few months ago, the evil Magician Boggen attempted to escape his exile on Nod and return to Earth. Wren stopped him, but Boggen is still out there. To save her world, Wren will travel farther than even she could have dreamed: to the heart of Nod itself, where she must defeat Boggen once and for all.

A fantastic adventure with a captivating world, inventive magic, and a dash of science, A Legend of Starfire is the perfect next read for fans of Madeleine L’Engle, John Stephens’s The Emerald Atlas, or Stefan Bachmann’s The Peculiar.



About the Author

Marissa Burt was forever getting notes sent home from teachers about reading novels during class. She grew up in Oregon and now lives in the Seattle area with her husband and three sons. Marissa is also the author of Storybound and Story's End.



Praise For A Legend of Starfire

“[A] mix of traditional fairy tale and fantasy makes it a natural precursor to books like Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials.”
— ALA Booklist

PRAISE FOR A SLIVER OF STARDUST: “Burt employs highly descriptive world building and plenty of action.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

PRAISE FOR STORY’S END: “Hits the ground running. There are a lot of compelling plotlines, and the book ends with an all-out bang.”
— ALA Booklist

PRAISE FOR STORYBOUND: “An appealing fantasy. Strong writing and interesting characters make Una’s journey enjoyable, and the overall result will have readers on the lookout for the planned sequel.”
Publishers Weekly

“A richly imagined world. Readers will enjoy the mind-bending fun of puzzling together small details.”
— ALA Booklist

“Readers who love fantasy may see an opportunity to snuggle up with a cup of cocoa and unravel the plot, which twists and turns in on itself, with happy surprises.”
Kirkus Reviews

“With its unique twist (her roommate, for example, is a snooty Snow White), Una’s adventures should charm those who enjoy fairy-tale reboots, and the cliff-hanger ending could ensure demand for a sequel.”
— School Library Journal