Skip to main content


Be Good Be Real Be Crazy

Chelsey Philpot

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Three teenagers. One road trip. Countless detours. From the author of Even in Paradise comes a story about love, friendship, and finding yourself that is perfect for fans of Paper Towns and Mosquitoland.

When Mia first waltzed into Homer’s small corner of Florida, she changed Homer’s entire world. It wasn’t long before he was hopelessly in love. But now Mia is moving away—and Homer and his younger brother, Einstein, are helping her drive hundreds of miles to her new home.

This might be Homer’s last chance to tell Mia how he really feels. And with so many detours in front of them, anything could happen.



Praise For Be Good Be Real Be Crazy

“Humorous, provocative...Gently affirms the importance of companionship and connectedness.”
— Horn Book Magazine

“This is a novel to be savored and experienced. Readers who delight in beautifully complex characters and evocative plots will be drawn to this work.”
— School Library Journal

“[Philpot] has a talent for creating many-layered characters whose depth and vulnerability make for effortless and immediate connections with readers.”
Publishers Weekly

“Filled with unique characters, the novel’s rich range of people and experiences all cumulate in an enchanting ending. Appealing for fans of Green and Asher, and a bittersweet love story for fans of Dessen and Rowell.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

PRAISE FOR EVEN IN PARADISE:
“If you’re a certain kind of reader, there’s a very good chance you have both Gossip Girl and The Great Gatsby on your bookshelf. Even in Paradise belongs right in the middle of the two.”
— Teen Vogue

“Eloquent and suspenseful . . . While readers know early on that Charlie’s relationship with the Buchanans is headed for a fall, they’ll be as entranced as she is by this beguiling, Kennedy-esque family, for whom power and pain are inextricably entwined.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A modern romance and classic tragedy. Readers who enjoy deep explorations of emotions and human frailty will relish this work.”
— School Library Journal

“This intriguing and beautifully written novel has it all—love, loss, friendships, secrets, and that startling concept that one mistake can change the course of your life forever.”
— Elizabeth LaBan, author of The Tragedy Paper

“An homage to Brideshead Revisited that reverently paints the rush and the melancholy of the original, while reinventing itself brilliantly for mature young adult readers. A striking coming-of-age debut.”
— Julie Berry, author of All the Truth That's in Me

“Poignant and enigmatic.”
— Leila Sales, author of This Song Will Save Your Life

“Fluid, nimble prose, lush descriptive passages, and a tenderly nostalgic plot.”
— Horn Book Magazine

“Philpot captures the equal parts—pain and hope—of unrequited love. The classic road trip story stays fresh with the introduction of characters readers will want to stay with. A compelling story of leaving your comfort zone to find out who you want to be.”
— ALA Booklist

HarperTeen, 9780062293725, 272pp.

Publication Date: October 11, 2016



About the Author

Chelsey Philpot grew up on a farm in New Hampshire and now works as an editor and a journalist. She's written for the New York Times, the Boston Globe, Slate, and numerous other publications. Like her main character, Charlotte, Chelsey attended boarding school in New England and then earned a degree in English from Vassar College and a master's in journalism from Boston University.