Kid Owner (Hardcover)

By Tim Green

HarperCollins, 9780062293794, 336pp.

Publication Date: September 29, 2015

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a riveting stand-alone football novel about being a leader and finding your inner strength. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica.

When Ryan’s estranged father unexpectedly dies, Ryan learns that he has inherited the Dallas Cowboys football team. With his new role as owner of this NFL team, Ryan has high hopes that he can be more than just a middle school misfit. Maybe he can even get off the bench and into the starting lineup of his own football team.

With the help of his friends Jackson and Izzy, Ryan takes advantage of his newfound stardom. He convinces his coach to use a tricky passing offense that plays to Ryan’s strengths. But just when things are looking up, Ryan’s nasty stepmother makes a legal play to make her own son the Cowboys’ kid owner. With drama heating up both on and off the field, Ryan quickly realizes he may lose much more than just the Dallas Cowboys.


About the Author

Tim Green, for many years a star defensive end with the Atlanta Falcons, is a man of many talents. He's the author of such gripping books for adults as the New York Times bestselling The Dark Side of the Game and American Outrage. Tim graduated covaledictorian from Syracuse University and was a first-round draft pick. He later earned his law degree with honors, and he has also worked as an NFL commentator for FOX Sports and NPR.

His first book for young readers, Football Genius, inspired in part by his players and his own kids, became a New York Times bestseller and was followed by Football Hero, Football Champ, The Big Time, and Deep Zone. He drew on his experiences playing and coaching Little League for Rivals and Pinch Hit and two more New York Times bestsellers: Baseball Great and Best of the Best.

Bestselling author Jon Scieszka called Tim Green's Unstoppable, a book about a boy's struggle with cancer that debuted at #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, "Absolutely heroic. And something every guy should read."

Tim Green lives with his wife, Illyssa, and their five children in upstate New York.



Praise For Kid Owner

“With his signature short, cliff-hanger chapters and snappy dialogue, Green has produced another smooth, well-crafted middle grade sports novel.”
— School Library Journal

“Ryan is believably naive and dazzled by his new situation. Sports fans will be, too.”
— Booklist