Life by Committee (Hardcover)

By Corey Ann Haydu

Katherine Tegen Books, 9780062294050, 304pp.

Publication Date: May 13, 2014

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Secret: I kissed someone else's boyfriend.
Assignment: Do it again.

Like most who find Life by Committee, Tabitha is a little lost. Her best friend has ditched her, her Vermont town is feeling way too small, and she's falling head over heels for a guy named Joe—who already has a girlfriend. Just when Tab is afraid she'll burst from keeping the secret of Joe inside, she discovers Life by Committee. The rules of LBC are simple: tell a secret, receive an assignment. Complete the assignment to keep your secret safe.

Tab likes it that the assignments push her to her limits, empowering her to live boldly and go further than she'd ever go on her own. But in the name of truth and bravery, how far is too far to go?

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jennifer E. Smith, Life by Committee is a fresh, vibrant novel about the power of wanting, the messiness of friendship, and the truths we hide and share.



About the Author

Corey Ann Haydu is the author of Rules for Stealing Stars and four acclaimed books for teens. She grew up in the Boston area, earned her MFA at the New School, and now lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her dog Oscar. Find out more at www.coreyannhaydu.com.



Praise For Life by Committee

“Looking for a book to read and discuss? This is it.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Haydu captures the wild emotions of adolescence: the surging hormones, the power of getting people to pay attention because of your body, and the confusion over how that makes you feel….Readers who are avidly involved in social media communities will relate to the thrill of confessing secrets to strangers.”
— School Library Journal

“Haydu gets at the push-pull between wanting to keep and to divulge secrets, as well as the way that anatomy can feel like destiny.”
— Publishers Weekly

“An authentic, heartfelt read about the power of truth and the beauty of self-discovery.”
— Sarah Ockler, author of #scandal and Twenty Boy Summer

“Life by Committee is a fun, smart, and moving read with every delicious ingredient-romance, secrets, and unexpected twists. Assignment: Read this one.”
— Deb Caletti, National Book Award Finalist and author of Honey, Baby, Sweetheart and The Last Forever

“(Not so) Secret: I immediately fell in love with Corey Ann Haydu’s wonderful, fresh story about truth, love, and bravery. Your assignment: Read Life by Committee immediately!”
— Elizabeth Eulberg, author of The Lonely Hearts Club and Better off Friends

“This book is brilliant, thrumming with honesty and surprising truths.”
— Terra Elan McVoy, author of Pure and The Summer of Firsts and Lasts