Making Pretty (Hardcover)

By Corey Ann Haydu

Katherine Tegen Books, 9780062294081, 368pp.

Publication Date: May 12, 2015

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell, Making Pretty is a raw, romantic coming-of-age about the complexities of family, the boundaries of love, and the realities of growing up in a culture that prizes beauty above nearly anything else.

Montana and her older sister Arizona have always been a team, sticking together through their plastic surgeon dad's string of divorces—and his not-so-subtle belief that "surgical assists" can be an asset to any woman. But when Arizona comes home from college with a boob job, the rift between the sisters feels insurmountable.

As summer in New York City heats up and Montana and Arizona grow apart, Montana befriends wild, bold, 23-year-old Karissa, who encourages her to live in Technicolor and chase new experiences—like a cute boy in the park. Bernardo becomes a beautiful distraction, and he looks at Montana in the way she wants to be seen. For the first time, she understands how you can become both lost and found in somebody else. But when that love becomes everything, where does it leave the rest of her imperfect life?



About the Author

Corey Ann Haydu is the author of Rules for Stealing Stars and four acclaimed books for teens. She grew up in the Boston area, earned her MFA at the New School, and now lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her dog Oscar. Find out more at www.coreyannhaydu.com.



Praise For Making Pretty

“Will appeal to fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“In a breathy first-person narrative, Montana describes what it’s like to be lost and to finally find herself again...Fans of Sarah Dessen’s character-driven novels will appreciate Montana’s journey of self-discovery.”
— Booklist

“Haydu’s dialogue shines.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Haydu is a masterful wordsmith.”
— Kirkus on OCD Love Story

“Looking for a book to read and discuss? This is it.”
— Kirkus on Life by Committee

“An authentic, heartfelt read about the power of truth and the beauty of self-discovery.”
— Sarah Ockler on Life by Committee

“Life by Committee is a fun, smart, and moving read with every delicious ingredient-romance, secrets, and unexpected twists. Assignment: Read this one.”
— Deb Caletti on Life by Committee