The Last Dragon Charmer #1 (Hardcover)

Villain Keeper

By Laurie McKay

HarperCollins, 9780062308436, 352pp.

Publication Date: February 3, 2015

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

This first book in the Last Dragon Charmer series is packed with adventure and wit, perfect for fans of Soman Chainani's School for Good and Evil series and Chris Colfer's Land of Stories series.

All his life, Prince Caden has dreamed of slaying a dragon. But before he has the chance, he is ripped from his home in the Great Winterlands of Razzon and finds himself in Asheville, North Carolina—a land with no magic and no dragons.

Or so he thinks. The longer Caden spends in Asheville, the more he comes to realize that there is unexpected and dangerous magic in this strange land. There just may be dragons here too. But what if Caden's destiny isn't to slay a dragon, after all?



About the Author

Laurie McKay lives in Durham, North Carolina, with her family and her two dogs. She earned her bachelor's degree in biology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and her master's degree in biological oceanography from North Carolina State University. She's taught at the Chesapeake Bay Governor's School for Marine and Environmental Science and in the North Carolina community college system. When she's not dodging students and prepping lab activities, she's sitting at a local coffee shop and daydreaming about all things fantastical.



Praise For The Last Dragon Charmer #1: Villain Keeper

“Kids will delight in Caden’s adventures and struggles.”
— ALA Booklist

“A promising new series.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Invites readers to look at their own world with an eye to magic.”
— School Library Journal