Pushing Perfect (Hardcover)

By Michelle Falkoff

HarperTeen, 9780062310538, 352pp.

Publication Date: October 25, 2016

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A girl’s quest for perfection results in dangerous consequences in this smart, suspenseful YA novel by the author of Playlist for the Dead. Fans of We Were Liars and The Secret History will devour this layered, ensemble-cast novel in which “twists and turns abound” (SLJ).

How far would you go to be perfect?

Kara has the perfect life. At least, that’s what she wants everyone to believe. The truth is, she works hard to maintain that illusion.

But when a moment of doubt leads Kara to do something risky—and illegal—someone sees. Before she knows it, she’s drawn into an unlikely group of classmates, all bound together by secrets of their own. Secrets that are being used against them.

Soon Kara is forced to confront how far she’s willing to go to be perfect—and if that’s something she really wants to be.  

“Reminiscent of the novels of Joan Lowery Nixon and Lois Duncan, this mystery set in a modern-day well-to-do suburb in California will keep readers turning the pages.” —School Library Journal

“Full of well-developed, diverse supporting characters. For teens who enjoy mysteries in the form of timely, realistic fiction.” —Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“Readers will be kept guessing.” —Kirkus Reviews



Praise For Pushing Perfect

“Twists and turns abound. Reminiscent of the novels of Joan Lowery Nixon and Lois Duncan with its methodical uncovering of clues and multiple red herrings, this mystery set in a modern-day well-to-do suburb in California will keep readers turning the pages.”

“Full of well-developed, diverse supporting characters. This is recommended for teens who enjoy mysteries in the form of timely, realistic fiction.”

“Readers will be kept guessing.”

Praise for Playlist for the Dead: “An absorbing and sensitive read.”

“Debut author Falkoff lightens the substantial topics of grief, bullying, and suicide with Sam’s engaging investigation.”

“Realistic and well–written…The strong characters, dialogue and the use of the playlist to structure the book make this a good pick for struggling readers.

“Falkoff treats a difficult topic with delicacy and care.”

“A nice premise with some truly powerful moments.”

“[A] debut novel that limns the shifting boundaries of teen friendship, loyalty and identity. Playlist takes the expected conventions of stories about teen grief and turns them inside out, keeping readers guessing until the final chapters.”