Glass Sword (Red Queen #2) (Hardcover)

By Victoria Aveyard

HarperTeen, 9780062310668, 464pp.

Publication Date: February 9, 2016

List Price: 19.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The #1 New York Times bestselling series!

The electrifying second installment in the Red Queen series has all the drama, intrigue, and steamy romance that made it a #1 New York Times bestseller.

Mare Barrow's blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control. The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors. But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat. Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

Perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones series, Glass Sword is the high-stakes follow up to the #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen.

And don’t miss War Storm, the thrilling final book in the bestselling Red Queen series!



About the Author

Victoria Aveyard was born and raised in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, a small town known only for the worst traffic rotary in the continental United States. She moved to Los Angeles to earn a BFA in screenwriting at the University of Southern California. She currently splits her time between the East and West coasts. As an author and screenwriter, she uses her career as an excuse to read too many books and watch too many movies. You can visit her online at www.victoriaaveyard.com.



Praise For Glass Sword (Red Queen #2)

“Aveyard certainly has a flair for the dramatic… The action hits the ground running and doesn’t stop until after the last page is turned.”
— School Library Journal

“High-stakes excitement and sharp plot twists… make this a fast-paced, exciting read and a thrilling sequel.”
— Booklist

“Fast-paced and action packed, Glass Sword is compelling and strong, guaranteed to gratify anxious readers of the series and fans of dystopian and fantasy literature.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

PRAISE FOR RED QUEEN: “A sizzling, imaginative thriller, where romance and revolution collide, where power and justice duel. It’s exhilarating. Compelling. Action-packed. Unputdownable.”
— USA Today

“Aveyard weaves a compelling new world of action-packed surprises... inventive, character-driven.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“A volatile world with a dynamic heroine.”
— Booklist

“Breakneck pace and engaging characters.”
— School Library Journal

” [Aveyard] sets her audience up for a gaspworthy twist that reconfigures nearly every character’s role and leaves Mare with no one to trust but herself... This blend of fantasy and dystopia will be an unexpected and worthy addition to many genre fans’ reading list.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Fascinating world building... Readers will be intrigued by a world that reflects today’s troubling issues concerning ethnic inequality, unfair distribution of wealth, pollution, warfare, political corruption, and the frightening power of the media.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)