Omega City (Hardcover)

By Diana Peterfreund

Balzer + Bray, 9780062310859, 336pp.

Publication Date: April 28, 2015

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The first middle grade novel in an exciting new series from acclaimed author Diana Peterfreund, perfect for fans of The Goonies and The City of Ember.

Gillian Seagret doesn't listen to people who say her father's a crackpot. His conspiracy theories about the lost technology of Cold War–era rocket scientist Dr. Aloysius Underberg may have cost him his job and forced them to move to the middle of nowhere, but Gillian knows he's right and plans to prove it.

When she discovers a missing page from Dr. Underberg's diary in her father's mess of an office, she thinks she's found a big piece of the puzzle—a space-themed riddle promising to lead to Dr. Underberg's greatest invention. Enlisting the help of her skeptical younger brother, Eric, her best friend, Savannah, and Howard, their NASA-obsessed schoolmate, Gillian sets off on a journey into the ruins of Omega City, a vast doomsday bunker deep inside the earth,.

But they aren't alone inside its dark and flooded halls. For while Gillian wants to save her dad's reputation by bringing Dr. Underberg's secrets to light, there are others who will stop at nothing to make sure they stay buried . . . forever.



About the Author

Diana Peterfreund is the author of many books for adults and children, including the critically acclaimed For Darkness Shows the Stars and Across a Star-Swept Sea. She lives with her family outside Washington, DC, in a house full of bookshelves, and is always on the lookout for lost cities or stray rocket ships.



Praise For Omega City

“Young readers looking for a page-turning quest should get into this planned series on the ground floor.”
— Booklist (starred review)

“[A] fast-paced series opener”
— Publishers Weekly

“Omega city is a treat…an exciting read, hard to put down, and just plain fun.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“A crowd-pleaser in the spirit of The Goonies”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for ACROSS A STAR-SWEPT SEA: “[A] mysterious spy adventure in a lush and terrifying futuristic world”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (starred review)

Praise for ACROSS A STAR-SWEPT SEA: “A charming bit of light adventure”
— Publishers Weekly

Praise for ACROSS A STAR-SWEPT SEA: “A good bet for readers looking for strong female protagonists, characters of color or just an enjoyable romantic adventure with a science-fiction spin.”
— Kirkus Reviews

Praise for ACROSS A STAR-SWEPT SEA: “Peterfreund’s novel is riveting and intense...Readers will love this page-turning story and its dramatic climax.”
— Romantic Times

Praise for ACROSS A STAR-SWEPT SEA: “Engrossing and fastpaced.”
— Booklist

Praise for ACROSS A STAR-SWEPT SEA: “Complex in both plotting and themes, this science fiction revision of The Scarlet Pimpernel offers political intrigue, narrow escapes, and forbidden romance”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for ACROSS A STAR-SWEPT SEA: “A well-paced story led by a strong and likable heroine.”
— School Library Journal

Praise for ACROSS A STAR-SWEPT SEA: “Across a Star-Swept Sea is, like its main character Persis Blake, a delight. Intrigue, romance, beautiful world-building, nuanced characters, and timely, intriguing questions come together to make this the perfect read. I loved it!”
— Allie Condie, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Matched trilogy

Praise for ACROSS A STAR-SWEPT SEA: “An imaginative and energetic retelling of The Scarlet Pimpernel-sheer fun!”
— Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling author of the Pink Carnation series

Praise for ACROSS A STAR-SWEPT SEA: “Delicious romance, class warfare, and genetic engineering-Diana Peterfreund will ensnare you with this sci-fi twist to a classic story.”
— Cinda Williams Chima, best-selling author of the Heir Chronicles and Seven Realms series

Praise for FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS: “This novel is a postapocalyptic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion that will be a hit with fans of sci-fi romances … Readers will keep turning the pages right up to the end.”
— School Library Journal

Praise for FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS: “A richly envisioned portrait of a society in flux, a steely yet vulnerable heroine, and a young man who does some growing up.”
— Publishers Weekly

Praise for FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS: “A post-apocalyptic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion scores high for ingenuity.”
— Kirkus Reviews

Praise for FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS: “Diana Peterfreund’s For Darkness Shows the Stars is an impassioned ode to Jane Austen, love, and the hope found in stars.”
— Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author of ACROSS THE UNIVERSE and A MILLION SUNS

Praise for FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS: “Don’t you love it when a brilliant idea meets with brilliant execution? Thank you, Diana Peterfreund for giving us a post-apocalyptic Persuasion. This book is meltingly good.”
— Laini Taylor, National Book Award Finalist for LIPS TOUCH: THREE TIMES

Praise for FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS: “A beautiful, epic love story you won’t be able to put down!”
— Simone Elkeles, New York Times bestselling author of the Perfect Chemistry series

Praise for FOR DARKNESS SHOWS THE STARS: “A smart and sexy tale of star-crossed love that’s as thought-provoking as it is heartbreaking.”
— Robin Wasserman, author of THE BOOK OF BLOOD AND SHADOW

“Readers…will hardly have time to catch their breath before each new twist and turn.”
— School Library Journal