The Copernicus Archives #2 (Paperback)

Becca and the Prisoner's Cross

By Tony Abbott

Katherine Tegen Books, 9780062314741, 208pp.

Publication Date: June 16, 2015

List Price: 3.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Travel deeper into the mysterious world of the Copernicus Legacy with the Copernicus Archives: exciting, fast-paced novellas that get you close to the characters and the heart of the adventure.

The Copernicus Archives #2: Becca and the Prisoner's Cross is studious language expert Becca's thrilling first-person account of the next stop in the Kaplans' perilous journey. As Becca and her family race through London, it's up to Becca to make sense of the strange time blackouts she's experiencing before the evil Teutonic Order beats them to the next relic. Or worse, hurts the people she loves.

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson, Becca and the Prisoner's Cross continues the thrilling Copernicus Legacy quest and brings one of the characters into the spotlight.

Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts



About the Author

Tony Abbott is the author of over a hundred books for young readers, including the bestseling series the Secrets of Droon and the Copernicus Legacy and the novels Firegirl and The Summer of Owen Todd. Tony has worked in libraries, in bookstores, and in a publishing company and has taught creative writing. He has two grown daughters and lives in Connecticut with his wife and two dogs. You can visit him online at www.tonyabottbooks.com.



Praise For The Copernicus Archives #2: Becca and the Prisoner's Cross

Praise for the Copernicus Archives: “This first in a string of novellas is intended to link each of the six full-length novels in the Copernicus Legacy series. This fast-paced adventure features vivid settings, difficult brainteasers and likable characters. This series continues to deliver on its promise.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review) on The Copernicus Archives #1: Wade and the Scorpion's Claw

Praise for the Copernicus Legacy series: “I had to keep reminding myself The Copernicus Legacy was intended for a young audience. Full of mystery and intrigue, this book had me completely transfixed.”
— Ridley Pearson, New York Times bestselling author of the Kingdom Keepers series

“The Copernicus Legacy takes you on a fantastical journey that is as eye-opening as it is page-turning. With mysteries hiding behind secrets coded in riddle, this book is like a Dan Brown thriller for young readers. The further you get, the more you must read!”
— Angie Sage, New York Times bestselling author of the Septimus Heap series

“The Copernicus Legacy has it all: A secret code, priceless relics, murderous knights, a five-hundred-year-old mystery, and a story full of friendship, family, humor, and intelligence.”
— Wendy Mass, New York Times bestselling author of The Candymakers and Every Soul a Star

“With engaging characters, a globe-trotting plot and dangerous villains, it is hard to find something not to like. Equal parts edge-of-your-seat suspense and heartfelt coming-of-age.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Fast-paced and clever, the novel reads like a mashup of the National Treasure films and The Da Vinci Code.”
— Publishers Weekly

“With word games and rebus puzzles to spare, this whirling first entry in a projected six-part series from Abbott has international intrigue, fast-paced action, entertaining characters, and a healthy helping of science history.”
— Booklist

“This lively escapade will suit fans of the 39 Clues series who are looking for a new puzzle to solve.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Tony Abbott is such an amazing storyteller, Copernicus should’ve named a star after him. With codes to crack, clues to unravel, and bad guys to outrun, this is one thrilling, smart, and fun read! I can’t wait for the next chapter is this stellar new series.”
— Chris Grabenstein, New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library

“A sprawling and fast-paced adventure in the great tradition of Robert Ludlum, Ian Fleming, and other masters whose tales loom larger than life. Readers are in for a real treat.”
— David Lubar, author of Flip, Wizards of the Game, and Hidden Talents