Aerie (Magonia #2) (Hardcover)

By Maria Dahvana Headley

HarperCollins, 9780062320551, 320pp.

Publication Date: October 4, 2016

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The stunning sequel to Maria Dahvana Headley’s critically acclaimed Magonia tells the story of one girl who must make an impossible choice between two families, two homes—and two versions of herself.

Aza Ray is back on earth. Her boyfriend, Jason, is overjoyed. Her family is healed. She’s living a normal life, or as normal as it can be if you’ve spent the past year dying, waking up on a sky ship, and discovering that your song can change the world.

As in, not normal. Part of Aza still yearns for the clouds, no matter how much she loves the people on the ground.

When Jason’s paranoia over Aza’s safety causes him to make a terrible mistake, Aza finds herself a fugitive in Magonia, tasked with opposing her radical, bloodthirsty, recently escaped mother, Zal Quel, and her singing partner, Dai. She must travel to the edge of the world in search of a legendary weapon, the Flock, in a journey through fire and identity that will transform her forever.

Told in Maria Headley’s trademark John Green–meets–Neil Gaiman voice, Aerie is sure to satisfy the many readers who can’t wait to return to the spellbinding world of Magonia.



Praise For Aerie (Magonia #2)

“Gorgeous, hopeful, heroic, as far-out fantastical as a lost Bowie song—a wild and wonderful novel that makes you glad to be alive.”

“The stunner in this novel is the romance between Aza and Jason that… transforms slowly to something that is broken and imperfect but also intentional and heart-wrenchingly beautiful. Readers [will] happily return here after diving into that splendid start.”

“The dual-voiced narrative... offers intriguing characterization and gender dynamics, paired with fascinatingly complex world-building that readers familiar with the series will especially enjoy.”

“A well-paced, cinematic adventure.”

PRAISE FOR MAGONIA: “Maria Dahvana Headley is a firecracker: she’s whip smart with a heart, and she writes like a dream.”

“Magonia is magical. A high-flying, refreshing, and literally out-of-the-blue fantasy with great characters, emotional depth, and a unique fantasy world that I never saw coming.”

“Headley riffs like an improv comic… funny, furious, and vulnerable. The haunting conclusion leaves many issues unresolved, but the ferocious, intelligent power of Aza and Jason’s bond is completely affirmed. Sweeping, strange, and richly imagined, the novel is ideal for fans of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone.”

“With lush writing, memorable world building, and an array of peculiar characters, this is sure to thrill readers looking for a distinctive, imaginative tale in the vein of Laini Taylor and Neil Gaiman.”

“The painful, sarcastic beauty of Aza’s interactions down below in the everyday world begs comparisons to John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.“

“The book races to an epic confrontation that will leave readers thrilled… romance, danger, and world-building combine.”

“The sweeping, lyrical language in both parts of the book is captivating, with haunting scenes woven from carefully chosen, sharply evocative descriptions.”

“[A] weird, unique, and beautifully crafted book.”