Proof of Forever (Hardcover)

By Lexa Hillyer

HarperTeen, 9780062330376, 352pp.

Publication Date: June 2, 2015

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

From debut author and poet Lexa Hillyer comes the lyrical story of four seventeen-year-old friends who receive an unlikely chance to relive the perfect summer . . . and the devastating secret that could unravel it all. Elegant and evocative, Proof of Forever is one of those first novels that hooks you from the beginning and builds toward a stunning—and unexpected—end, calling to mind Gayle Forman and Ann Brashares.

Joy, Tali, Luce, and Zoe were once best friends. Now they barely speak. That is, until the fateful flash of a photo-booth camera transports them back in time, to the summer they were fifteen—the summer everything changed. Photos fade. Friendships dissolve. Summers end. But this one will change the girls forever . . . again.

Wendy Wunder calls Proof of Forever "The Sisterhood of the (Time) Traveling Pants for a new generation!"



About the Author

Lexa Hillyer is the cofounder of Glasstown Entertainment, a former YA editor, and the author of Proof of Forever, Spindle Fire, and Winter Glass. Lexa is also an award-winning poet: Her first collection, Acquainted with the Cold, won the Melissa Lanitis Gregory Poetry Prize as well as the Foreword IndieFab Book of the Year Award. Her poetry has been anthologized in Best New Poets 2012 and has appeared in several journals. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband, their daughter, and a skinny orange tree. www.lexahillyer.com



Praise For Proof of Forever

“A beautifully written testament to the power of friendship and the possibility of second chances, told with humor, heart, and a little bit of magic.”
— Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Geography of You and Me

“Sexy, soulful, and surprising.”
— Corey Ann Haydu, author of O.C.D. LOVE STORY and LIFE BY COMMITTEE

“Complex and sophisticated, Proof of Forever is The Sisterhood of the (Time) Traveling Pants for a new generation! You will love this memorable, sparkling debut!”
— --Wendy Wunder, author of The Museum of Intangible Things and The Probability of Miracles

“A quintessential summer novel...This novel will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Jennifer E. Smith, and Ann Brashares. VERDICT Hillyer has penned a tale ideal for readers seeking something sweet tinged with a hint of sadness.”
— School Library Journal

“A quick, enjoyable read that should resonate with readers on the cusp of adulthood.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Fluid and layered with emotion.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Poignant and surprising...a perfect summer read.”
— RT Book Reviews

“An edgier, more risqué version of Ann Brashares’ Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants (2001), Proof of Forever features four authentic teenage voices and unique perspectives that will encourage readers to reevaluate their own friendships, love interests, and philosophies of life.”
— Booklist

“In the vein of Sarah Dessen or Ann Brashares, Proof of Forever is an ode to summer camp...a perfect read for a sprawling summer day.”
— BookPage