The Cabinet of Curiosities (Hardcover)

36 Tales Brief & Sinister

By Stefan Bachmann, Alexander Jansson (Illustrator), Katherine Catmull, Claire Legrand, Emma Trevayne

Greenwillow Books, 9780062331052, 496pp.

Publication Date: May 27, 2014

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A collection of thirty-six forty eerie, mysterious, intriguing, and very short stories by the acclaimed authors Stefan Bachmann, Katherine Catmull, Claire LeGrand, and Emma Trevayne. The Cabinet of Curiosities is perfect for fans of Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anyone who relishes a good creepy tale. Great for reading alone or reading aloud at camp or school!

The book features an introduction and commentary by the authors and black-and-white illustrations throughout.



Praise For The Cabinet of Curiosities: 36 Tales Brief & Sinister

“A hefty sheaf of chillers—all short enough to share aloud and expertly cast to entice unwary middle graders a step or two into the shadows.”

“This collection of 36 short dark fantasies . . . aspires to sit on the same shelf as Alvin Schwartz’s Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and succeeds admirably. . . . Readers who enjoy their Halloween chills all year round will find this anthology a delight.”

“With school dismissed, it’s time for pure pleasure reading. . . . The Cabinet of Curiosities . . . lets readers dip in and out of 36 spine-tingling tales.”

“The stories are remarkable both for their uniformly high quality and for their distinctness from one another; the abundant atmospherics, including occasional stark black-and-white illustrations, provide a unifying sense of dread.”

“For readers who have gloried in and graduated from Alvin Schwartz’s collections of scary stories, the tales collected here will provide a deliciously tingly next step.…All are engagingly unsettling in some way, with a select few crossing over into genuine nightmare territory.”