Solitaire (Hardcover)

By Alice Oseman

HarperTeen, 9780062335685, 368pp.

Publication Date: March 31, 2015

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In Solitaire, Alice Oseman has brought to life a vivid, clever, and heartfelt portrayal of what it's like to be a teenager today. This stunning debut novel—which the Times (London) called "The Catcher in the Rye for the digital age"—is perfect for fans of Melina Marchetta, Stephen Chbosky, and Rainbow Rowell.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year—before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of exams and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people—I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that's all over now.

Now there's Solitaire. And Michael Holden. I don't know what Solitaire is trying to do, and I don't care about Michael Holden. I really don't.



Praise For Solitaire

“Tori’s wry voice and dark humor provide a counterpoint to her descent into depression. A fascinating debut from an author to watch.”

“Oseman’s debut could put her among the great young adult fiction authors. Solitaire is a pleasure to read; Tori’s voice is incredibly relatable.”

“Tori’s voice makes this story into a poignant yet blackly funny and even lively emotional journey. A deeply absorbing read.”

“Oseman proves herself a clever, witty writer.”

“Honest and authentic… with appeal to fans of John Green.”

“In [Oseman’s] punky, depressive, epigrammatic, mordant heroine Tori Spring we have a Holden Caulfield for the internet age.

“Intrigue, suspense, and a fairly spectacular climax will appeal to teens asking the big questions.”