Skip to main content
Cover for Amy the Red Panda Is Writing the Best Story in the World

Amy the Red Panda Is Writing the Best Story in the World

Colleen AF Venable, Ruth Chan (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

An exuberant, hilarious guessing game about storytelling, creativity, friendship, and patience—with the most adorable animal menagerie you’ll find anywhere!

Amy the Red Panda starts to tell her best friend Mervin the Sloth a story when—uh-oh—a rainstorm of letters pours down! When it stops, Amy reads a sentence in the sky: Amy the Red Panda is writing the best story in the world.

The BEST story in the WORLD? That’s a tall order. Especially when all of the other animals have their own opinions on what the story should be about. Big animals or small ones? Acrobats? A pirate bird flying the Seven Seas? Oh, dear! Luckily, Mervin is there to give Amy just the right inspiration.

A companion to Mervin the Sloth Is About to Do the Best Thing in the World, this funny-bone–tickling picture book brings back a cast of zany, irresistible animal friends and an inventive, playful format. Pitch-perfect, full of imagination, and just right for fans of Dragons Love Tacos, The Book with No Pictures, and The Monster at the End of This Book.



Praise For Amy the Red Panda Is Writing the Best Story in the World

“A paean to playfulness and following one’s own vision as essential to creativity. ...A story that may encourage readers to be writers, too.” — Kirkus Reviews

“This metafictional episode matches a funny yarn-spinner with a rain of big letters that drop into sight...a simple story emerges—one that will draw the wayward audience members back and leave them eager for more. Young would-be-writers who are likewise stuck will come away with fresh resolve.” — Booklist

“Letters rain down as Amy, an adorable red panda, strives to write the best story in the world. ...A lighthearted look at the storytelling process, best suited for one-on-one and small group sharing.” — School Library Journal

Greenwillow Books, 9780062338488, 40pp.

Publication Date: November 14, 2017



About the Author

Colleen AF Venable is the author of the picture books The Oboe Goes Boom Boom Boom, Mervin the Sloth Is About to Do the Best Thing in the World, and Amy the Red Panda Is Writing the Best Story in the World. She is also the author of several graphic novels, including Katie the Catsitter, the Guinea Pig: Pet Shop Private Eye series, and Kiss Number 8, which was longlisted for the 2019 National Book Award. Colleen AF Venable lives in Brooklyn, NY.



Ruth Chan spent her childhood tobogganing in Canada, her teens living in and exploring China, a number of years studying art and education, and a decade working with youth and families in underserved communities. She now writes and illustrates in Brooklyn, New York, where she can often be found chatting with her neighbors. Visit www.ohtruth.com for more info.