The Leaving Season (Hardcover)

By Cat Jordan

HarperTeen, 9780062351371, 352pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 2016

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Middie Daniels calls it the leaving season: the time of year when everyone graduates high school, packs up their brand-new suitcases, and leaves home for the first time.

This year Middie's boyfriend, Nate, is the one leaving, heading to Central America for a year of volunteering after graduation. And once he returns, it'll be time for Middie to leave, too. With him. But when tragedy strikes, Middie's whole world is set spinning. No one seems to understand just how lost she is . . . except for Nate's slacker best friend, Lee. Middie and Lee have never gotten along. But with the ground ripped out from under her, Middie is finding that up is down—and that Lee Ryan might be just what she needs to find her footing once more.

Cat Jordan's heartbreaking story proves that no matter the season, no matter the obstacles, love can help you find yourself in the most unexpected of places.



Praise For The Leaving Season

“Jordan has crafted a story about leaving, about growing up, and about finding your path and being true to yourself… Fans of Sarah Dessen, Lurlene McDaniel, and other similar romance authors may enjoy Jordan’s debut offering.”
— School Library Journal

“The real-life drama told in Middie’s voice artfully weaves a complicated personal story of rebellion and personal growth as she figures out what is really important to her and what love really means. A touching coming-of-age romance.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Some may find the ending exhilarating, while others will be reaching for hankies. Jordan’s debut novel should appeal to fans of Elizabeth Eulberg and Jenny Han.”
— Booklist

“Debut author Jordan capably shows how Middie discovers new dimensions of herself, as well as how life moves on and brings new opportunities in the process… readers looking for happy endings won’t be disappointed as Middie stumbles her way back toward love and happiness.”
— Publishers Weekly

“A story at turns gentle and devastating-the subtle romantic tension simmers as Jordan’s characters fight to define themselves and connect with one another. Gripping and joyful all at once.”
— Megan Mulry, USA Today bestselling author of A Royal Pain