Skip to main content
Cover for Build, Dogs, Build

Build, Dogs, Build

A Tall Tail (I Can Read Level 1)

James Horvath, James Horvath (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (7/4/2016)
Hardcover (12/31/2013)
Paperback (7/5/2016)

Description

Beginning readers will love this I Can Read adventure starring a doggy construction crew, gently adapted from James Horvath’s popular picture book of the same title.

Top dog Duke and his crew of construction-worker dogs are ready to knock down an old building and build up a shiny new one. With cranes, bulldozers, dump trucks, and cement mixers all on the job, these busy dogs have a lot to do. Will they finish the new building in time?

Build, Dogs, Build is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it’s perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences.

 



Praise For Build, Dogs, Build: A Tall Tail (I Can Read Level 1)

“This is a rollicking, energetic read that will pump up kids’ enthusiasm for building.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Youngsters who can’t get enough books with pictures of heavy equipment will be attracted to this one.” — School Library Journal

“Kids who get starry-eyed over trucks, earth-moving equipment, and construction sites should go gaga over this book, which has a pack of very capable canines scampering around and digging at a construction site.” Praise for Dig, Dogs, Dig — Kirkus Reviews

“With its punchy rhymes and Hanna-Barbera panoramas, Dig, Dogs, Dig hops along with the bouncy effervescence of P.D. Eastman’s Go Dog. Go!” Praise for Dig Dogs Dig — New York Times

“Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site will eagerly dig into illustrator/designer Horvath’s vehicle-centric debut, first in a planned series.” Praise for Dig, Dogs, Dig — Publishers Weekly

“A dozen dogs and one black cat work hard to build a playground in this amusing story that will please kids who love excavators, cranes and dump trucks… The entire construction process is conveyed in an energetic manner that is both entertaining and educational.” Praise for Dig, Dogs, Dig — Kirkus Reviews

“Youngsters who can’t get enough books with pictures of heavy equipment will be attracted to this one.” Praise for Dig, Dogs, Dig — School Library Journal

HarperCollins, 9780062357069, 32pp.

Publication Date: July 5, 2016



About the Author

James Horvath has worked as a designer and illustrator for more than fifteen years. In 2002 he established Jamestoons Studios (with a workforce of one) so he could focus more on his illustration. When not scratching and scribbling at his drawing table, he plays with his two young sons and wife, bangs around on the banjo, surfs, and generally has a lot of fun. A lifelong devoted cartoon fan, James Horvath lives with his family on California’s central coast. You can visit him online at www.jamestoons.com.



James Horvath has worked as a designer and illustrator for more than fifteen years. In 2002 he established Jamestoons Studios (with a workforce of one) so he could focus more on his illustration. When not scratching and scribbling at his drawing table, he plays with his two young sons and wife, bangs around on the banjo, surfs, and generally has a lot of fun. A lifelong devoted cartoon fan, James Horvath lives with his family on California’s central coast. You can visit him online at www.jamestoons.com.