The Shadow Queen (Ravenspire #1) (Hardcover)

By C. J. Redwine

Balzer + Bray, 9780062360243, 400pp.

Publication Date: February 16, 2016

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A New York Times bestselling dark epic fantasy inspired by the tale of Snow White, from C. J. Redwine, the author of the Defiance series. This breathtakingly romantic, action-packed fantasy is perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Cinder.   

Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. To do that, Lorelai needs to use the one weapon she and Queen Irina have in common—magic. She’ll have to be stronger, faster, and more powerful than Irina, the most dangerous sorceress Ravenspire has ever seen.

In the neighboring kingdom of Eldr, when Prince Kol’s father and older brother are killed by an invading army of magic-wielding ogres, the second-born prince is suddenly given the responsibility of saving his kingdom. To do that, Kol needs magic of his own—and the only way to get it is to make a deal with the queen of Ravenspire, promise to become her personal huntsman—and bring her Lorelai’s heart.

But Lorelai is nothing like Kol expected—beautiful, fierce, and unstoppable—and despite dark magic, Lorelai is drawn in by the passionate and troubled king. Fighting to stay one step ahead of the dragon huntsman—who she likes far more than she should—Lorelai does everything in her power to ruin the wicked queen. But Irina isn’t going down without a fight, and her final move may cost the princess the one thing she still has left to lose.



About the Author

C.J. Redwine is a New York Times bestselling author of YA fantasy novels, including the Ravenspire series of fairytale retellings and the Defiance trilogy. She’s still waiting for her letter from Hogwarts. Currently, she lives in Nashville with her husband, five children, three pets, and a wardrobe that stubbornly refuses to lead to Narnia, no matter how many times she tries. To learn more about C.J., visit her website at www.cjredwine.com.



Praise For The Shadow Queen (Ravenspire #1)

“Forget everything you think you know about Snow White. There are no shrinking violets here, just a bold and cunning princess determined to save a kingdom that’s rotting beneath dark magic…. A gripping addition to the retelling genre.”
— Marissa Meyer, New York Times bestselling author of the Lunar Chronicles

“With poison, fire, and deadly deeds, this tale is hard to put down and even harder to forget. I’ll never look at apples the same way again!”
— Maria V. Snyder, New York Times bestselling author of the Study series

“A perfect addition to the fractured fairy[tale] genre…the princess does not need any saving in this tale.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“Magic, dragons, and royalty in hiding: The Shadow Queen hits all the right notes of an incredible epic fantasy.”
— Jodi Meadows, author of the Orphan Queen duology

“Filled with complex characters, imaginative and horrible consequences, and sharp twists
— Booklist

“An action-packed retelling of “Snow White”...Great fun”
— School Library Journal

“A fully imagined fairy tale landscape.”
— Publishers Weekly

Praise for DELIVERANCE: “A sharp new epic”
— Booklist

Praise for DECEPTION: “An engaging fantasy”
— Booklist

Praise for DEFIANCE: “A well-paced, heart-wrenching tale of loyalty, courage, and love.”
— Romantic Times

Praise for DEFIANCE: “C.J. Redwine’s DEFIANCE is a gritty, thrilling adventure sprinkled with moments of breathtaking tenderness. I read it in one sitting.”
— Rae Carson, Morris Award finalist for and New York Times bestselling author of THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS

Praise for DEFIANCE: “Spellbinding, romantic, and impossible to put down.”
— Julie Kagawa, New York Times bestselling author of the Iron Fey series and the Blood of Eden series