Every Single Second (Paperback)

By Tricia Springstubb, Diana Sudyka (Illustrator)

Balzer & Bray/Harperteen, 9780062366290, 368pp.

Publication Date: November 14, 2017

Advertisement

Description

From acclaimed author Tricia Springstubb comes a poignant and topical middle grade novel about the effects of an accidental shooting on family, friendship, and community. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Rita Williams-Garcia. Now available in paperback.

A single second. That's all it takes to turn a world upside-down.

Twelve-year-old Nella Sabatini's life is changing too soon, too fast. Her best friend Clem doesn't seem concerned; she's busy figuring out the best way to spend the "leap second"--an extra second about to be added to the world's official clock. The only person who might understand how Nella feels is Angela, but the two of them have gone from being "secret sisters" to not talking at all.

Then Angela's idolized big brother makes a terrible, fatal mistake, one that tears apart their tight-knit community and plunges his family into a whirlwind of harsh publicity. In the midst of this controversy, Nella is faced with startling revelations about her parents, friends, and neighborhood. Soon she must choose whether to stand by or stand up. The clock ticks down, and in that extra second, past and present merge--the future will be up to Nella.

Advertisement