A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic (Hardcover)

By Lisa Papademetriou

HarperCollins, 9780062371218, 320pp.

Publication Date: October 6, 2015

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (3/14/2017)
Prebound (3/14/2017)

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Bestseller and author of the popular middle grade series Confectionately Yours Lisa Papademetriou is back with a magical, page-turning adventure for readers of all ages—a touching tale about destiny and the invisible threads that link us all, ultimately, to one another.

Kai and Leila are both finally having an adventure. For Leila, that means a globe-crossing journey to visit family in Pakistan for the summer; for Kai, it means being stuck with her crazy great-aunt in Texas while her mom looks for a job. In each of their bedrooms, they discover a copy of a blank, old book called The Exquisite Corpse. Kai writes three words on the first page—and suddenly, they magically appear in Leila's copy on the other side of the planet. Kai's words are soon followed by line after line of the long-ago, romantic tale of Ralph T. Flabbergast and his forever-love, Edwina Pickle. As the two take turns writing, the tale unfolds, connecting both girls to each other, and to the past, in a way they never could have imagined.

A heartfelt, vividly told multicultural story about fate and how our stories shape it.



About the Author

Lisa Papademetriou spends most of her time in the Dreamway, even when she’s awake. She is the author of Apartment 1986 and A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic and lives in Massachusetts with her family.

 



Praise For A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic

“Lisa Papademetriou’s prose and sense of place dazzles the ear and eye, while the adventure and mystery binds us from page to page. Now that’s sleight of hand!”
— Rita Williams-Garcia, Newbery Honor Winner

“Magic! It’s everywhere—in music, in moths, in an old handwritten book. But the real magic is the exquisite storytelling that sweeps us along until the last wonderful page. This is a book that leaves shimmers in the very air.”
— Kathi Appelt, New York Times bestselling author of The Underneath and Keeper

“A lively, heartwarming, sometimes perilous tale packed with creepy elements, appealing characters…and more than a few laughs.”
— Common Sense Media

“A rollicking adventure... Engaging and appealing, especially to those who have never quite fit in, this novel is sure to satisfy.”
— School Library Journal

“Begging to be read aloud, this is a fun book for middle grade readers, and it will surely inspire them to read—and write—more.”
— Booklist

“A beguiling tale of... enduring love and nascent self-discovery.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“The developing mystery and the promise of new friendships and second chances make for emotionally satisfying engagement… Despite the contemporary setting, the book has an old-fashioned quality of domestic fantasy that will appeal to fans of E. Nesbit and Edward Eager.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“I, for one, did not want the story to end.”
— Time for Kids