Plant the Tiny Seed (Hardcover)

By Christie Matheson, Christie Matheson (Illustrator)

Greenwillow Books, 9780062393395, 40pp.

Publication Date: January 24, 2017

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

How do you make a garden grow? In this playful companion to the popular Tap the Magic Tree and Touch the Brightest Star, you will see how tiny seeds bloom into beautiful flowers. And by tapping, clapping, waving, and more, young readers can join in the action! Christie Matheson masterfully combines the wonder of the natural world with the interactivity of reading.

Beautiful collage-and-watercolor art follows the seed through its entire life cycle, as it grows into a zinnia in a garden full of buzzing bees, curious hummingbirds, and colorful butterflies. Children engage with the book as they wiggle their fingers to water the seeds, clap to make the sun shine after rain, and shoo away a hungry snail. Appropriate for even the youngest child, Plant the Tiny Seed is never the same book twice—no matter how many times you read it!

And for curious young nature lovers, a page of facts about seeds, flowers, and the insects and animals featured in the book is included at the end. Fans of Press Here, Eric Carle, and Lois Ehlert will find their next favorite book in Plant the Tiny Seed.



Praise For Plant the Tiny Seed

“White backgrounds and minimal text make this a strong option for sharing with groups as well as with individuals...Sure to engage listeners by calling for their active responses, this is a top choice for collections serving the youngest readers and nature lovers.”

“Matheson brings her interactive approach…to a garden setting, giving readers a chance to take part in the process. …Matheson sets the action against broad, white backdrops with just a hint of soil at the bottom edge, creating maximum contrasts as three flowers grow and blossom.”

“The simple text moves across both pages as the seeds grow into beautiful flowers...The illustrations become more plentiful and colorful as the flowers grow, mirroring the naturally occurring miracles of real gardens.“