The Silver Gate (Hardcover)

By Kristin Bailey

Katherine Tegen Books, 9780062398574, 320pp.

Publication Date: January 10, 2017

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In shepherd boy Elric’s tiny village, people think children like his younger sister, Wynn, are changelings—left by fairies and doomed to curse all around them. As a baby, Wynn was born with developmental delays, and according to the rules, she was supposed to be abandoned in the woods.

Instead Elric’s mother saved his sister and hid her away for eleven years. They live in secret and fear of being discovered, yet their home is full of love, laughter, and singing. Wynn and Elric’s favorite song is about the Silver Gate, a beautiful fairy realm where all children are welcome.

But when their long-absent father returns to sell Wynn to the Lord’s castle as a maid, Elric realizes that folk songs and fantasies can’t protect them from the outside world. They have to run away. Still Wynn believes there’s only one place they’ll ever be safe, and it lies beyond the Silver Gate.

The road to freedom is long and treacherous. If they have any hope for survival, Elric and Wynn must learn to depend on each other above everything else—and discover the magic that always reveals itself when it seems like all is lost.



About the Author

Kristin Bailey is the author of Into the Nightfell Wood and The Silver Gate. She grew up in the middle of the San Joaquin Valley in California. In the course of her adventures, she has worked as a zookeeper, balloon artist, and substitute teacher. Now she writes books for tweens and teens who enjoy magic and adventure as much as she does. Learn more at www.kristinbailey.com.


Praise For The Silver Gate

“Tender and magical.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“As much a thoughtful study of human care and relationships as it is a fairy tale.”
— The Horn Book

“Bailey deftly explores bullying and the definition of ‘normal.’ This polished, charming story is a perfect fit for fans of Shannon Hale and Jessica Day George’s fairy-tale retellings as well as an excellent choice for elementary school book discussion groups.”
— School Library Journal