Girl Mans Up (Paperback)

By M-E Girard

HarperCollins, 9780062404183, 400pp.

Publication Date: January 16, 2018

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

“Pen is an inspiration to anyone who’s struggled to be understood, and a vital addition to the growing world of genderqueer protagonists.” –The New York Times Book Review

Lambda Literary Award Winner * Entertainment Weekly Best YA Book of 2016 * Children’s Book Council Books Best Book of 2016 * Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Coming-of-Age Novel of 2016 and Best Teen Book of 2016 with Unforgettable Protagonists * Publishers Weekly Fall 2016 Flying Starts * William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist

All Pen wants is to be the kind of girl she’s always been. So why does everyone have a problem with it? They think the way she looks and acts means she’s trying to be a boy—that she should quit trying to be something she’s not. If she dresses like a girl, and does what her folks want, it will show respect. If she takes orders and does what her friend Colby wants, it will show her loyalty.

But respect and loyalty, Pen discovers, are empty words. Old-world parents, disintegrating friendships, and strong feelings for other girls drive Pen to see the truth—that in order to be who she truly wants to be, she’ll have to man up.

Now available in paperback, M. E. Girard’s Girl Mans Up is perfect for fans of Meredith Russo, Becky Albertalli, Alex Sanchez, and Jaye Robin Brown!



Praise For Girl Mans Up

“A powerful book about identity, belonging, and the collision between sexuality and cultural expectations.”

“This is a fresh title in the growing sea of LGBTQ YA literature. There is no sugarcoating in this very real portrayal of an aspect of teen life that many experience. Recommended for fans of YA urban fiction as well as those who prefer grittier LGBTQ lit.”

“Fierce. Tender. Unstoppable.”

“Original. Courageous. Vibrant.”

“Heartfelt. Refreshing. True.”

“I loved it. A brilliant new writer to watch.”

“Respeito for Pen.”

“Raw. Real. Irresistable.”

“Girard explores questions of family, friendship, loyalty, and identity through the voice of Pen Oliveira, a 16-year old girl ... [She] forcefully conveys the fear Pen lives with, having experienced frequent mockery and bullying, and her courage in aspiring to a safe, loving community for herself and her friends.”