Fireworks (Paperback)

By Katie Cotugno

Balzer + Bray, 9780062418289, 352pp.

Publication Date: April 10, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (4/10/2017)
Hardcover (4/11/2017)
Paperback (1/7/2020)
Compact Disc (4/11/2017)
Compact Disc (4/11/2017)
MP3 CD (4/11/2017)

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

From the New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days and How to Love comes a stunning new contemporary novel—all about boy bands, girl bands, best friends, and first love—perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson.

It was always meant to be Olivia. She’s the talented one, the one who’s been training to be a star her whole life. Her best friend, Dana, is the levelheaded one, always on the sidelines, cheering Olivia on.

But everything changes when Dana tags along with Olivia to Orlando for the weekend, where superproducer Guy Monroe is holding auditions for a new singing group, and Dana is discovered too. Dana, who’s never sung more than Olivia’s backup. Dana, who wasn’t even looking for fame. Next thing she knows, she and Olivia are training to be pop stars, and Dana is falling for Alex, the earnest, endlessly talented boy who’s destined to be the next big thing.

It should be a dream come true, but as the days of grueling practice and constant competition take their toll, things between Olivia and Dana start to shift . . . and there’s only room at the top for one girl. For Olivia, it’s her chance at her dream. For Dana, it’s a chance to escape a future that seems to be closing in on her. And for these lifelong best friends, it’s the adventure of a lifetime—if they can make it through.

Set in evocative 1990s Orlando, Fireworks brings to life the complexity of friendship, the excitement of first love, and the feeling of being on the verge of greatness.



About the Author

Katie Cotugno is the New York Times bestselling author of Top Ten, Fireworks, 99 Days, and How to Love. She studied writing, literature, and publishing at Emerson College and received her MFA in fiction at Lesley University. Katie is a Pushcart Prize nominee whose work has appeared in Iowa Review, Mississippi Review, and Argestes, among others. She lives in Boston with her husband, Tom. www.katiecotugno.com



Praise For Fireworks

“A compelling portrait of the intimacies of close girl friendships …and a romance as hot as the midsummer Orlando sun”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Cotugno hits the nail on the head when exploring female friendship and the difficulties surrounding life in the spotlight. This devourable novel will appeal to those interested in the creation of fame, but also to any girl on the cusp of change.”
— Booklist

“A thrilling, intense read...this book will hook readers.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“[A] fast-paced drama about the significance of authentic friendship and romance.”
— School Library Journal

Praise for 99 DAYS: “This book will appeal to fans of E. Lockhart’s The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks (Hyperion, 2008), offering complex characters, plot twists, and an insightful look at society’s double standards.”
— School Library Journal

Praise for 99 DAYS: “A thought-provoking story...[that] explores the powerful bonds that arise between childhood friends who grow up to discover romance”
— Publishers Weekly

Praise for 99 DAYS: “Molly’s a totally engaging, multi-faceted character…A fascinating story of adolescent love and betrayal.”
— Kirkus Reviews

Praise for 99 DAYS: “A complicated, compelling summer romance…and a whole lot of kissing make[s] this one to stick in the beach bag.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for HOW TO LOVE: “There are those novels, once in a spectacular blue moon, that just feel perfect. HOW TO LOVE is that book. Perfect.”
— Carolyn Mackler, winner of the Printz Honor and bestselling author of THE FUTURE OF US

Praise for HOW TO LOVE: “HOW TO LOVE is epic. I crushed so hard on this book. A roller coaster ride with all the euphoric highs and the stomach-dropping lows of falling in love. The writing is as beautiful as the love story. I adored it!”
— Siobhan Vivian, author of THE LIST

Praise for HOW TO LOVE: “A vibrant, sparkling narrative of first love and second chances - will remind you that love isn’t ever easy, but falling for a great story is.”
— Entertainment Weekly

Praise for HOW TO LOVE: “[In this] confident debut...it’s impossible not to root for the two of them to beat the odds.”
— Publishers Weekly

Praise for HOW TO LOVE: “Cotugno’s debut ambitiously, and intriguingly, follows a couple who fall in love twice, over two different time periods.”
— Booklist

Praise for HOW TO LOVE: “Readers looking for a story of whirlwind passion…and a happily-ever-after drive into the sunset will not be disappointed.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)