Deacon Locke Went to Prom (Hardcover)

By Brian Katcher

Katherine Tegen Books, 9780062422521, 400pp.

Publication Date: May 9, 2017

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The love life of an awkward teen takes an unforgettable turn after he brings his grandmother to prom in this funny, offbeat, and smile-inducing contemporary romance that is pitch perfect for fans of Jesse Andrews and Robyn Schneider.

Promposals are taking over Deacon Locke’s high school and there is no place left to hide. But even with graduation looming, shy and unusually tall Deacon doesn’t think he can get up the nerve to ask anyone to the dance. Especially given all the theatrics.

It isn’t until Deacon confides in his witty and outgoing best friend Jean that he realizes should could be a great person to take. Only problem is Jean isn’t your typical prom date. She’s older. A lot older. And she’s Deacon’s grandmother.

But when Deacon meets Soraya—a girl unlike any other he’s ever met—he fears he has totally squandered his chances of having a prom he’ll never forget. Deacon couldn’t be more wrong. About everything.

Deacon Locke Went to Prom is award-winning author Brian Katcher’s fifth novel.



About the Author

Brian Katcher is the author of the Stonewall Book Award-winning novel Almost Perfect, Playing with Matches, and Everyone Dies in the End. He lives in central Missouri with his wife, Sandra, and his daughter, Sophie. When he's not writing, he's working as a school librarian and a member of the Forever Young Adult blogging group.



Praise For Deacon Locke Went to Prom

“Deacon Locke Went to Prom had me shimmying with delight. A wonderful and surprisingly poignant story about family, friends, and finding yourself.”
— Elizabeth Eulberg, author of BETTER OFF FRIENDS

“Part comedy of errors, part coming of age, this novel is so funny and touching I can’t imagine anyone reading it without a huge smile on their face.”
— Bret Hartinger, author of THE GEOGRAPHY CLUB and THREE TRUTHS AND A LIE

“Only a character like Deacon could teach us that grandmothers make the best friends (and prom dates), that stars in the sky shine far brighter than pseudo-celebs, and that the most beautiful dances are the ones we improvise along the way.”
— Holly Schindler, author of SPARK

“An outstanding feel-good story. Brims with humor, heart, and hope.”
— Anthony John, author of THOU SHALL NOT ROAD TRIP

“A sweet lesson on staying true to oneself.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Deacon is a likeable narrator, full of self-deprecating humor.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“There is something very sweet and nerdy about the entire premise of the story, where the upside-down rules of cosplay and gaming conventions like Washingcon allow the outsiders to be heroes.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“Fans of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist will find con-tentment here.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“A zany romantic comedy for pop culture geeks and ‘Con’ enthusiasts.”
— School Library Journal

“A nerd-friendly adventure story with a gooey, sweet romance center.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Katcher’s multifaceted novel is about more than a school dance, delving into discrimination, dementia, and the perils of online fame… Deacon’s entertaining commentary keeps the overall tone thoughtful, upbeat and hopeful.”
— Publishers Weekly