The Warning (Mass Market)

A Short Story

By Sophie Hannah

Witness Impulse, 9780062428851, 160pp.

Publication Date: August 4, 2015

List Price: 3.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, a gripping short story from the New York Times bestselling author of Woman with a Secret.

Don't say I didn't warn you…

When a kindly stranger does Chloe a good deed, she decides she must repay him. But in tracing him, she meets a sympathetic woman named Nadine, who warns Chloe to stay away from the man at all costs. "Give him nothing, tell him nothing, don't trust him," she says. "Avoid him like the plague."

Chloe knows the sensible thing to do: walk away. But her curiosity gets the best of her. What is the truth about the good Samaritan? How dangerous could he be? And can Chloe find the answers without putting herself and her daughter in harm's way?

A twisting, razor-sharp suspense story that will keep you guessing to the very end, The Warning features an appearance from Simon Waterhouse, next seen in the full-length thriller Woman with a Secret—already hailed as "mesmerizing" (Lisa Gardner) and "unputdownable" (Liane Moriarty).



About the Author

Sophie Hannah is the New York Times-bestselling author of numerous psychological thrillers, which have been published in 49 countries and adapted for television. She also wrote The Monogram Murders, the first Hercule Poirot novel authorized by the estate of Agatha Christie, and its sequels Closed Casket and The Mystery of Three Quarters.