I'll Be Your Blue Sky (Paperback)

A Novel

By Marisa de los Santos

William Morrow Paperbacks, 9780062431943, 352pp.

Publication Date: December 4, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (3/5/2018)
Hardcover (3/6/2018)
Compact Disc (3/6/2018)
Paperback, Large Print (3/6/2018)
MP3 CD (3/6/2018)
Compact Disc (3/6/2018)

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The New York Times bestselling author revisits the characters from her beloved novels Love Walked In and Belong to Me in this captivating, beautifully written drama involving family, friendship, secrets, sacrifice, courage, and true love for fans of Jojo Moyes, Elin Hilderbrand, and Nancy Thayer.

On the weekend of her wedding, Clare Hobbes meets an elderly woman named Edith Herron. During the course of a single conversation, Edith gives Clare the courage to do what she should have done months earlier: break off her engagement to her charming—yet overly possessive—fiancé.

Three weeks later, Clare learns that Edith has died—and has given her another gift. Nestled in crepe myrtle and hydrangea and perched at the marshy edge of a bay in a small seaside town in Delaware, Blue Sky House now belongs to Clare. Though the former guest house has been empty for years, Clare feels a deep connection to Edith inside its walls, which are decorated with old photographs taken by Edith and her beloved husband, Joseph.

Exploring the house, Clare finds two mysterious ledgers hidden beneath the kitchen sink. Edith, it seems, was no ordinary woman—and Blue Sky House no ordinary place. With the help of her mother, Viviana, her surrogate mother, Cornelia Brown, and her former boyfriend and best friend, Dev Tremain, Clare begins to piece together the story of Blue Sky House—a decades-old mystery more complex and tangled than she could have imagined. As she peels back the layers of Edith’s life, Clare discovers a story of dark secrets, passionate love, heartbreaking sacrifice, and incredible courage. She also makes startling discoveries about herself: where she’s come from, where she’s going, and what—and who—she loves.

Shifting between the 1950s and the present and told in the alternating voices of Edith and Clare, I’ll Be Your Blue Sky is vintage Marisa de los Santos—an emotionally evocative novel that probes the deepest recesses of the human heart and illuminates the tender connections that bind our lives.



About the Author

Marisa de los Santos is a New York Times bestselling author and award-winning poet with a PhD in literature and creative writing. She lives in Wilmington, Delaware, with her family.



Praise For I'll Be Your Blue Sky: A Novel

“A lovely rumination on the choices we make, with characters we’ve loved for years.”
— RT Book Reviews (top pick)

“De los Santos brings her signature style, wit, and charm while weaving in beloved characters from her previous novels. . . .This tender, genuine, and joyful novel is one to savor.”
Booklist (starred review)

“De los Santos...here revisits the next generation of her beloved characters, moving the family saga forward with this engrossing story of unshakable love, personal ethics, and a commitment to life’s larger truths.”
Library Journal

“The author doesn’t sugarcoat the violence that the women have suffered, but she balances those passages with soaring descriptions of everything from the saltwater marshes to Dev’s smile. This novel is both lovely and powerful.”
Publishers Weekly

“Breathtaking. These characters are so alive and so complex, you might pass them on the street. Marisa de los Santos infuses their lives with poetry and insight – and does the same for us in the process.”
— Katherine Center, author of How to Walk Away and Happiness for Beginners


Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

1. When Edith first steps into Blue Sky House, she feels her husband Joseph’s presence

everywhere, and she experiences the house as “forthright and decent and kind.” When

Clare enters the house decades later, she also feels a human presence. Have you ever

found a house or some other specific place to have a personality?


2. Clare admires her fiancée, Zach, as a person who “tries so hard to be good,” even when

it doesn’t come easily to him, and she appreciates his desire to be different from his

cold, judgmental family. Have you ever known a person like this? Do you understand

why Clare would be attracted to these qualities?


3. What do you make of Clare’s relationship with Zach?


4. Edith and Joseph are both photographers. How do their photographs reflect their

personalities?


5. Edith feels that she does not “fit” into the social world of small town 1950s. Can you

relate to her discomfort?


6. When Edith and Joseph see the flock of white herons take flight, Joseph says, “’That

was you. You, you. That’s what you have been to me. Exactly.’” What do you think he

means by this?


7. What do you make of Edith’s decision to take George Graham up on his proposal, in

spite of the risks?


8. Why do you think Edith decides to start keeping the “shadow ledger”?


9. What do you think of Clare’s relationship with Dev? Do you understand her decision to go to a different college from him and later to break up with him?


10. Why do you think Clare decides to ask Dev to help her solve the mystery of Blue Sky

House?


11. What do you make of Edith’s friendship with John?


12. When Clare is out in Edith’s canoe, she has the realization that “[S]ome things you

decide and some things you choose and some things just are.” Do you know what she

means? Have you ever felt this way?


13. Early in the novel, Joseph tells Edith, “I’ll be your blue sky.” Later, Edith tells Clare, “The

ones who look like home are home. They’re where you go.” Do these sentiments

resonate with you?