Dear Sweet Pea (Hardcover)

By Julie Murphy

Balzer + Bray, 9780062473073, 288pp.

Publication Date: October 1, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (10/1/2019)
MP3 CD (10/1/2019)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (10/1/2019)

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Fall 2019 Kids Indie Next List

“Sweet Pea is that spunky, likeable girl next door who’s going through a rough patch. Her parents are getting divorced, she’s caught between friends, and her cat seems like the only one who loves her for who she is. And now she’s scored her first job — forwarding mail for her unusual neighbor, Miss Flora Mae, who writes the paper’s advice column. Sweet Pea gets tempted to open a letter, and then the fun begins! Can trying to help cause more trouble than it solves? A funny and heartwarming story of a tween finding her way.”
— Jenny Stroyeck, The Homer Bookstore, Homer, AK
View the List

Description

The first middle grade novel from Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’ (now a popular Netflix film), is a funny, heartwarming story perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Ali Benjamin, and Holly Goldberg Sloan.

Patricia “Sweet Pea” DiMarco wasn’t sure what to expect when her parents announced they were getting a divorce. She never could have imagined that they would have the “brilliant” idea of living in nearly identical houses on the same street. In the one house between them lives their eccentric neighbor Miss Flora Mae, the famed local advice columnist behind “Miss Flora Mae I?”

Dividing her time between two homes is not easy. And it doesn’t help that at school, Sweet Pea is now sitting right next to her ex–best friend, Kiera, a daily reminder of the friendship that once was. Things might be unbearable if Sweet Pea didn’t have Oscar—her new best friend—and her fifteen-pound cat, Cheese.

Then one day Flora leaves for a trip and asks Sweet Pea to forward her the letters for the column. And Sweet Pea happens to recognize the handwriting on one of the envelopes.

What she decides to do with that letter sets off a chain of events that will forever change the lives of Sweet Pea DiMarco, her family, and many of the readers of “Miss Flora Mae I?”



About the Author

Julie Murphy lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. After several wonderful years in the library world, Julie now writes full-time. When she’s not writing or reliving her reference desk glory days, she can be found watching made-for-TV movies, hunting for the perfect slice of cheese pizza, and planning her next great travel adventure. She is also the author of the young adult novels Dumplin’ (now a film on Netflix), Puddin’, Ramona Blue, and Side Effects May Vary. You can visit Julie at www.juliemurphywrites.com.



Praise For Dear Sweet Pea

“Murphy creates a wonderfully realistic portrait of tween life in her first middle-grade novel…. Sweet Pea is a treasure of a protagonist.”  
— ALA Booklist (starred review)

“Endearing and funny… An excellent blend of eccentricity, humor, genuine sweetness, and mild drama.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“With gentle humor, ageless wisdom, and charming, genuine characters who represent a diversity of experiences, Murphy’s novel offers all the emotional highs and lows of pitch-perfect middle grade.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Full of cringe-worthy but funny seventh grade moments… [there’s also] plenty of room for more serious reflection about the people around her in her small Texas town, a cast diverse in ethnicity, sexual orientation, and body size as well as in attitudes.”
— Horn Book Magazine

Dear Sweet Pea is a truly irresistible story about a family in flux, brimming with humor and heart.”
— Rebecca Stead, Newbery Award-winning author of When You Reach Me

Praise for PUDDIN’: “This companion to the very popular Dumplin’ introduces more memorable characters for whom readers can’t help but cheer.”
— School Library Journal

Praise for PUDDIN’: “Julie Murphy has created the platonic love story of a lifetime. I am wildly in love with Puddin’.”
— Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Leah on the Offbeat and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Praise for PUDDIN’: “Murphy’s plot brims with unlikely friendships, irresistible romance, fabulous fat acceptance, and a kick-ass ending. Buoying.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for PUDDIN’: “Murphy’s energetic writing style makes for compulsive readability.”
— Booklist

Praise for PUDDIN’: “Texans and non-Texans alike will appreciate getting to know two strong-minded Lone Star girls.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for RAMONA BLUE: “An exquisite, thoughtful exploration of the ties that bind and the fluidity of relationships, sexuality, and life.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for RAMONA BLUE: “Julie Murphy knows a thing or two about navigating the worlds of girls on the brink of self-discovery.”
— Booklist (starred review)

Praise for RAMONA BLUE: “A must-have work that will resonate with teens”
— School Library Journal

Praise for RAMONA BLUE: “Julie Murphy delivers a fresh and glorious love story that addresses all the complexities of one’s heart. Ramona Blue’s discovery of limitless love is total beauty.”
— Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the End

Praise for RAMONA BLUE: “Ramona Blue is Julie Murphy’s best book yet. It’s hilarious, it’s heartfelt, and it’s so, so real. I just wish I’d had this book to read during my own teen years!”
— Robin Talley, New York Times bestselling author of Lies We Tell Ourselves

Praise for RAMONA BLUE: “Murphy creates a place that feels deeply real…a great setting for a coming-of-age story, as Ramona realizes that she’s capable of more than she imagined and that some categories are more fluid than she’d thought.”
— Publishers Weekly

Praise for RAMONA BLUE: “Satisfying”
— The Horn Book

Praise for DUMPLIN’: “Will’s singular voice compels readers to think about all that goes into building-and destroying-self-esteem...Splendid”
— Booklist (starred review)

Praise for DUMPLIN’: “Murphy...successfully makes every piece of the story—Dolly Parton superfans, first love, best-friend problems, an unlikely group of pageant entrants, female solidarity, self-acceptance, and Willowdean’s complicated relationship with the mother...-count, weaving them together to create a harmonious, humorous, and thought-provoking whole.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Praise for DUMPLIN’: “I’m obsessed with this book. Wickedly funny, heartbreakingly real, full of characters to love and cheer for. DUMPLIN’ is such a star.”
— Katie Cotugno, author of How to Love and 99 Days

Praise for DUMPLIN’: “Dumplin’ should be required reading for anyone who has ever felt even slightly uncomfortable in his or her skin. Julie Murphy’s star continues to shine with this groundbreaking, poignant story that will surely change lives.”
— John Corey Whaley, award-winning author of Noggin’ and Where Things Come Back

Praise for DUMPLIN’: “Dumplin’ made me want to high-five everyone in the world. If there’s any justice on this godforsaken earth, Julie Murphy will become the next household name synonymous with YA.”
— Cristin Stickles, McNally Jackson Books

Praise for DUMPLIN’: “[A] richly enjoyable novel...a clever and funny book to please lovers of thoughtful romance and secret pageant fans.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for DUMPLIN’: “Genuine, romantic, and with a dash of Texan charm, this is a novel that celebrates being who you are while also acknowledging that it’s incredibly difficult to do.”
— The Horn Book

Praise for DUMPLIN’: “Portrays and challenges sterotypes about beauty pageants, size issues, and women’s concerns...Powerful.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “Honest and unflinching, this is a compelling story of one teen’s struggle with cancer, love, and living. A worthwhile addition.”
— School Library Journal

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “Readers will turn the last page wanting to know where the next chapter leads.”
— Kirkus Reviews

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “Alice and Harvey’s relationship is raw, honest, moving, and unapologetic in its depiction of their individual, and collective, pain.”
— Booklist

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “Julie Murphy weaves together a tender and funny tale of love, friendship, heartache, and redemption. Side Effects May Vary explodes with brutal honesty, brilliant wit, and unflinching heart.”
— John Corey Whaley, winner of the Michael L. Printz Award for Where Things Come Back

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “Julie Murphy’s Side Effects May Vary is a funny, heartfelt, honest look at the beauty and the risk of getting a second chance. An inspiring novel about all the things worth living for. I adored this debut!”
— Siobhan Vivian, author of The List

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “A funny and touching novel about a strong-willed heroine who finds facing death simple, but facing life heart-wrenchingly complicated. A real original.”
— Jennifer Echols, author of Going Too Far

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “A tale of unlikely romance, impossible obstacles, and mortality, this book is a must-read.”
— Teen Vogue

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “It’s equal parts fun, cringe-worthy, and totally fearless!”
— Seventeen

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “An unexpected twist on the typical cancer story.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)