Positively Izzy (Paperback)

By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator)

Balzer + Bray, 9780062484963, 224pp.

Publication Date: May 1, 2018

List Price: 10.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible Emmie Terri Libenson returns with a companion graphic novel that captures the drama, angst, and humor of middle-school life. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer Holm, and Victoria Jamieson.

Middle school is all about labels.

Izzy is the dreamer. There’s nothing Izzy loves more than acting in skits and making up funny stories. The downside? She can never quite focus enough to get her schoolwork done.

Bri is the brain. But she wants people to see there’s more to her than just a report card full of As. At the same time, she wishes her mom would accept her the way she is and stop bugging her to “break out of her shell” and join drama club.

The girls’ lives converge in unexpected ways on the day of a school talent show, which turns out to be even more dramatic than either Bri or Izzy could have imagined.



Praise For Positively Izzy

“Libenson captures middle-school dramas—family, friendships, crushes, stereotypes, grades, self-discovery—with candor, fast pacing, and authentic, relatable characters. Positively satisfying.”

“Libenson nicely touches on classic middle-grade tropes, such as shifting friendships, crushes, and developing confidence. A poignant twist ending adds a heartening note to an already charming story.”

“The story is light but resonant for middle graders, with constant comedic asides in the illustrations.”

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “This is middle grade fiction at its best. A fantastic debut novel with plenty of laughs and tons of heart. INVISIBLE EMMIE is unforgettable!”

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “Clever, funny work by a great cartoonist. Reading INVISIBLE EMMIE sums up middle school: You laugh, you cry, you get beaned in the head with a volleyball.”

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “This funny and heartfelt tale will ring true for anyone who’s ever felt invisible.”

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “In her first children’s book, cartoonist Libenson offers strikingly different visions of seventh grade through two very dissimilar narrators. A well-executed twist will have readers flipping back to see what they missed while cheering the strides made by Libenson’s no-longer-invisible heroine.”

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “With all-too-familiar middle-school drama and an empowering lesson about speaking up and bravely facing down embarrassment, this should find an easy audience among fans of Wimpy Kid or Dork Diaries books.”

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “Many readers will recognize themselves in Emmie and her friends, who are at once self-conscious and eager to be seen for who they are. A highly relatable middle grade drama.”

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “Libenson’s clever tale will entertain readers in the throes of middle school as well as younger students both wary of and intrigued by their near future.”