Skip to main content


The Closest I've Come

Fred Aceves

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (11/6/2017)
Paperback (1/7/2020)
Compact Disc (11/7/2017)

Description

Read the book Morris Award finalist Sonia Patel called "a brilliant, subtle debut," and Kirkus hailed as "heart-wrenching, funny, hopeful, and not-to-be-missed" in a starred review!

The Closest I’ve Come is a must-read from talented first-time author Fred Aceves, in the tradition of Walter Dean Myers.

Marcos Rivas yearns for love, a working cell phone, and maybe a pair of sneakers that aren’t falling apart. But more than anything, Marcos wants to get out of Maesta, his hood, away from his indifferent mom and her abusive boyfriend—which seems impossible.

When Marcos is placed in a new after-school program, he meets Zach and Amy, whose friendship inspires Marcos to open up to his Maesta crew, too, and starts to think more about his future and what he has to fight for. Marcos ultimately learns that bravery isn’t about acting tough and being macho; it’s about being true to yourself.

The Closest I’ve Come is a story about traversing real and imagined boundaries, about discovering new things in the world, and about discovering yourself, too.

Kirkus Best Book of 2017 * A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year * An ALA/YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection




Praise For The Closest I've Come

★ “Heart-wrenching, funny, hopeful, and not-to-be-missed.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A memorable, hard-hitting portrait of a teenager trying to shape his own destiny after being dealt a difficult hand.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Aceves has written a remarkable debut novel. Every reader will enjoy Aceves’s deft handling of this coming-of-age journey. The Closest I’ve Come will be a welcome addition to the growing cannon of quality urban young adult literature.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“An unflinching portrayal of boyhood and the seemingly impossible circumstances so many young people face.”
— Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of The Poet X

“A brilliant, subtle debut.”
— Sonia Patel, author of Morris Award finalist Rani Patel in Full Effect and Jaya and Rasa: A Love Story

“A story that will have readers cheering by the end. An inspirational read.”
Booklist

“Recommended for fans of Jason Reynolds and for readers who appreciate gritty and introspective realistic fiction with a sense of humor.”
— School Library Journal

“It takes about half a page of this debut to become convinced Aceves is an author to watch, but there’s no point at which you’ll want to put down his strongly voiced coming-of-age, perfect for fans of When I Was the Greatest.”
— B&N Teen Blog

“A debut that’s as stunning as it is powerful, Aceves’ novel is a story is a complex story about family and friendships. Don’t sleep on this one.”
— Paste Magazine

“Effective, and there’s a refreshing subversion of literary expectation...The accessible writing brings this story to a wide range of readers.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“[E]xplores the nuances of class and ethnicity through the eyes of a hero that readers will love rooting for.”
— Bookish.com

HarperTeen, 9780062488534, 320pp.

Publication Date: November 7, 2017



About the Author

Fred Aceves is the author of The Closest I’ve Come, which was an ALA/YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection, a Kirkus Reviews Best Books of the Year selection, and an NYPL Best Books selection. The New David Espinoza is his second novel. Fred has lived in seven different countries and currently lives in Mexico. His online home is www.fredaceves.com.