The Dress in the Window (Paperback)

A Novel

By Sofia Grant

William Morrow Paperbacks, 9780062499721, 384pp.

Publication Date: July 25, 2017

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A perfect debut novel is like a perfect dress—it’s a “must have” and when you “try it on” it fits perfectly. In this richly patterned story of sisterhood, ambition, and reinvention Sofia Grant has created a story just right for fans of Vintage and The Dress Shop of Dreams.

World War II has ended and American women are shedding their old clothes for the gorgeous new styles. Voluminous layers of taffeta and tulle, wasp waists, and beautiful color—all so welcome after years of sensible styles and strict rationing.  

Jeanne Brink and her sister Peggy both had to weather every tragedy the war had to offer—Peggy now a widowed mother, Jeanne without the fiancé she’d counted on, both living with Peggy’s mother-in-law in a grim mill town.  But despite their grey pasts they long for a bright future—Jeanne by creating stunning dresses for her clients with the help of her sister Peggy’s brilliant sketches.

Together, they combine forces to create amazing fashions and a more prosperous life than they’d ever dreamed of before the war. But sisterly love can sometimes turn into sibling jealousy. Always playing second fiddle to her sister, Peggy yearns to make her own mark. But as they soon discover, the future is never without its surprises, ones that have the potential to make—or break—their dreams.


Praise For The Dress in the Window: A Novel

“Sofia Grant’s evocative prose sparkles with intensity and brings to life a bygone era of American vintage fashion -- before it was considered ‘vintage.’ [...] A remarkable story of sewing, sisterhood, reinvention, and redemption, as only Grant can tell it.”

“In The Dress in the Window, Sofia Grant writes about sisters and mothers with a hand as deft as the needles her characters wield. This gorgeous novel transports and transforms, leaving the reader reluctant to step away from its pages.”

“Readers who enjoy plots offering strong family relationships, artistic creativity, and enterprising business schemes will relish this portrait of mid-century America [...]”