Kat and Meg Conquer the World (Hardcover)

By Anna Priemaza

HarperTeen, 9780062560803, 368pp.

Publication Date: November 7, 2017

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

For fans of Nicola Yoon’s Everything, Everything, Emery Lord’s When We Collided, and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, Anna Priemaza’s debut novel is a heartwarming and achingly real story of finding a friend, being a fan, and defining your place in a difficult world.

Kat and Meg couldn’t be more different. Kat’s anxiety makes it hard for her to talk to people. Meg hates being alone, but her ADHD keeps pushing people away. But when the two girls are thrown together for a year-long science project, they discover they do have one thing in common: They’re both obsessed with the same online gaming star and his hilarious videos.

If they can stick together, this might be the beginning of a beautiful friendshipthe kind Kat never knew she wanted and Meg never believed she'd find.

Kat and Meg Conquer the World will hit home for anyone who has ever been waist-deep in fandom, doubt, or new relationships; Kat’s and Meg’s unique voices are outstanding, and their friendship brings this story to vibrant life."—Francesca Zappia, author of Made You Up and Eliza and Her Monsters



About the Author

Anna Priemaza is a young adult author and a practicing lawyer in Edmonton, Alberta, where she lives with her husband. She is the author of Kat and Meg Conquer the World and Fan the Fame. Visit her online at www.annapriemaza.com or on Twitter @annab311a.



Praise For Kat and Meg Conquer the World

“Kat and Meg Conquer the World will hit home for anyone who has ever been waist-deep in fandom, doubt, or new relationships; Kat’s and Meg’s unique voices are outstanding, and their friendship brings this story to vibrant life.”
— Francesca Zappia, author of Made You Up and Eliza and Her Monsters

“A much-needed portrait of the importance of female friendship in an overstimulating, modern world. A heartwarming, realistically drawn story for fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Inspiring from start to finish. Full of girl power, adventure, heart, and (my personal favorite) video games.”
— Erin “Aureylian” Wayne, Gaming Content Creator

“Awesomely fun. Gamer gals, devotees of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, and members of John and Hank Green’s nerdfighters will find this debut novel by Priemaza satisfying in its depiction of an unlikely IRL bond between two flawed, funny, bright young women.”
— ALA Booklist

“Reading about Kat and Meg’s friendship is bubbly and effortless, like spending time with someone who not only gets you, but also gets the things that you love. It pops with sweetness and energy while still treating issues such as race and sex with realism and mindfulness. Joyful and real.”
— The Globe and Mail

“A uniquely wonderful portrayal of female friendship—warm and wise and whip-smart. The heart of this book is ten miles wide.”
— Carlie Sorosiak, author of If Birds Fly Back Carlie Sorosiak, author of If Birds Fly Back

Kat and Meg Conquer the World has conquered my heart. A hilarious, touching, fandom-fueled book about the struggle to find your place in the world—and the beautiful moment when you realize you don’t need to do it alone.”
— Chelsea Sedoti, author of The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

“Genuine friendship leads to acts of great courage in this entertaining and heartwarming story.”
— Publishers Weekly

“A funny (and sometimes heartrending) story of two outcasts who form an unlikely friendship. Great for readers who realize that it’s okay to be different, that the most lasting friendships are the ones that you have to fight for, and that geeks rule.”
— Brian Katcher, author of The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak

“I can’t even begin with my feels for this book. Kat and Meg has everything I want in a story: humor, honesty, hardcore geekery, and characters that make you want to reach through the pages and hug them. This book will stay with you long after you put it down.”
— Jilly Gagnon, author of #famous

“A celebration of girl power at its best, these two prove that the things you hate most about yourself might be exactly what someone else needs.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books