Time Castaways #2 (Hardcover)

The Obsidian Compass

By Liesl Shurtliff

Katherine Tegen Books, 9780062568182, 432pp.

Publication Date: October 15, 2019

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Liesl Shurtliff, New York Times bestselling author of Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin, continues the action-packed Time Castaways trilogy with book two, in which the Hudsons sail across time and history as they embark on a daring rescue mission.

With magic, mystery, and adventure, this is perfect for fans of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and Percy Jackson.

Mateo, Ruby, and Corey Hudson have lost their friend Jia to the villainous Captain Vincent’s clutches, and now they’re determined to bring her back to safety. But the Hudson kids don’t have a way to time-travel without the Obsidian Compass, until Mateo figures out the secret component to get his own homemade compass working.

Soon the whole family—plus their wacky neighbor, Chuck, and his rusty orange bus, Blossom—are swept up in another epic journey.

With their own time-traveling vehicle and some help from history’s most famous young markswoman, Annie Oakley, the Hudsons think they’re prepared to sneak onto the Vermillion. Unbeknownst to them, Captain Vincent already knows they’re coming. In fact, he’s counting on it…



About the Author

Liesl Shurtliff is the New York Times bestselling author of Rump: The True Tale of Rumpelstiltskin, other books in the (Fairly) True Tales series, and the Time Castaways series, beginning with Time Castaways: The Mona Lisa Key. She was born and raised in Salt Lake City, Utah, the fifth of eight kids. She now lives in Chicago with her husband and four kids, where she writes full-time. Find her online at www.lieslshurtliff.com


Praise For Time Castaways #2: The Obsidian Compass

Praise for TIME CASTAWAYS #1: “Time-traveling pirates, whimsical humor, a sentient ship, and cliffhanger predicaments deliver generous helpings of quirky, retro-tinged entertainment.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Third-person narration with memorable characters, an enticing plot, and some cool steampunklike magic will attract readers who love Jen Swann Downey’s Ninja Librarians or Brian Farrey’s Vengekeep Prophecies. A strong sense of the characters’ humanity and interesting time travel paradoxes... A promising series for fantasy adventure fans.”
— School Library Journal

“An engaging page-turner that will serve as an introduction to science fiction and mystery.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for RUMP: “As good as gold.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Lighthearted and inventive, Rump amusingly expands a classic tale.”
— Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven

Praise for RED: “Red is the most wonder-filled fairy tale of them all!”
— Chris Grabenstein, New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Limoncello’s Library