Sorry for Your Loss (Hardcover)

By Jessie Ann Foley

HarperTeen, 9780062571915, 336pp.

Publication Date: June 4, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (6/4/2019)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

From Printz Honor winner and Morris Award finalist Jessie Ann Foley comes a comitragic YA novel that will appeal to fans of Jandy Nelson and Jeff Zentner.

As the youngest of eight, painfully average Pup Flanagan is used to flying under the radar. He’s barely passing his classes. He lets his longtime crush walk all over him. And he’s in no hurry to decide on a college path.

The only person who ever made him think he could be more was his older brother Patrick. But that was before Patrick died suddenly, leaving Pup with a family who won’t talk about it and acquaintances who just keep saying, “sorry for your loss.”

When Pup excels at a photography assignment he thought he’d bomb, things start to come into focus. His dream girl shows her true colors. An unexpected friend exposes Pup to a whole new world, right under his nose.

And the photograph that was supposed to show Pup a way out of his grief ultimately reveals someone else who is still stuck in their own. Someone with a secret regret Pup never could have imagined.



About the Author

Jessie Ann Foley is a teacher who writes fiction for young adults. Her debut novel, The Carnival at Bray, was a Printz Honor winner, a William C. Morris Debut Award finalist, a YALSA Top Ten Fiction for Young Adults title, and a Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book. Her second novel, Neighborhood Girls, was an ALA Booklist Editors’ Choice, where it also received a starred review. Sorry for Your Loss is her third novel. To learn more about Jessie, visit her online at www.jessieannfoley.com.



Praise For Sorry for Your Loss

“Luminous, wise, lyrical, and hilarious. Pup Flanagan is the best sort of underdog hero. This book’s pages can barely contain the hugeness of its beating heart.”
— Jeff Zentner, author of the NYT Notable Book The Serpent King


“Foley deftly paints a portrait exploring the different ways that grief and loss affect the members of a loving yet broken family. An introspective novel about the healing power of art with light touches of tears, laughter, and romance.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Printz Honor winer Foley takes readers through tenderhearted and sometimes painfully funny observations. It’s a narrative that is threaded through with incredible feeling. A warm and clear-eyed examination ofa family swimming through grief and a boy who finds the light.”
— ALA Booklist (starred review)

“There are wonderful moments of levity, but ultimately the book is a poignant examination of the loss of a loved one during the time between adolescence and adulthood. Written with Foley’s keen ear for family dynamics, this is definitely a strong choice.”

— School Library Journal

“Invaluable.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Through confident, expressive narration, Foley...provides an affirming conclusion to this decliately told coming-of-age story.”
— Horn Book Magazine