Skip to main content


A Conspiracy of Kings (Queen's Thief #4)

Megan Whalen Turner

Paperback

List Price: 10.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (5/15/2017)
Paperback (8/23/2011)
Hardcover (3/23/2010)
Compact Disc (5/16/2017)
(4/1/2010)

Description

Discover and rediscover the world of the Queen's Thief, from the acclaimed novel The Thief to the thrilling, twenty-years-in-the-making conclusion, The Return of the Thief. The epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief can be read in any order.

New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. The New York Times bestseller A Conspiracy of Kings won the Los Angeles Times Book Award and is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

After an attempted assassination and kidnapping, Sophos, heir to the throne of Sounis, disappears. Those who care for him—including the thief Eugenides and the Queen of Eddis—are left to wonder if he is alive and if they will ever see him again. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. 

This edition of A Conspiracy of Kings includes a conversation between bestselling author Leigh Bardugo and Megan Whalen Turner, an introduction to the characters from the world of the Queen’s Thief, a map of the world of the Queen’s Thief, and an exclusive teaser to Thick as Thieves.

Winner of the LA Times Book Award

A New York Times Bestseller

A Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor Book

A School Library Journal Best Book

“The Queen’s Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner’s books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come.”—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer

"Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again."—Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom

“Megan Whalen Turner is one of my all-time favorite writers . . . impossible to put down.”—Holly Black, award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author of the Modern Faerie Tale series and The Darkest Part of the Forest

“Romance, intrigue, mystery, surprises, and sheer beautiful writing.”—Cassandra Clare, award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author of The Mortal Instruments and Lady Midnight

“The world Turner creates is so tangible that not only do I believe in its characters, I almost believe in its gods.”—Kristin Cashore, award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author of the Graceling Realm series

A Conspiracy of Kings brings the sweetest, sharpest kind of reading pleasure. Megan Whalen Turner’s books are pure joy.”—Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author of When You Reach Me and Goodbye Stranger



Praise For A Conspiracy of Kings (Queen's Thief #4)

Praise for The Thief: Newbery Honor Book “This is an uplifting book, a literary journey that enhances both its characters and readers before it is over.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Tantalizing, suspenseful, exceptionally clever.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

Praise for The Queen of Attolia: “The intense read is thoroughly involving and wholly satisfying on all fronts.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

“Turner’s storytelling is so sure that readers will want to go along with her—and discover whatever it is that Eugenides will do next.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Readers will be spellbound.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for The King of Attolia: “Turner has outdone herself here: The King of Attolia is one of the most fascinating and original children’s fantasies to appear in years.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

“Eugenides, the former Thief of Eddis, is back and just as clever as ever.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“A winner.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Megan Whalen Turner is one of my all-time favorite writers. A Conspiracy of Kings is impossible to put down.”
— Holly Black, author of the Modern Faerie Tales Series

“The world Turner creates is so tangible that not only do I believe in its characters, I almost believe in its gods.”
— Kristin Cashore, author of Graceling

“A Conspiracy of Kings brings the sweetest, sharpest kind of reading pleasure. Megan Whalen Turner’s books are pure joy.”
— Rebecca Stead, author of When You Reach Me

“Romance, intrigue, mystery, surprises, and sheer beautiful writing make this a worthy successor to the previous volumes.”
— Cassandra Clare, author of the Mortal Instruments Series

“Megan Whalen Turner has constructed a clever world filled with suspense and intrigue and characters that will never be forgotten. Once you dive into the world of the Queen’s Thief [books], prepare to have your life stolen from you until you finish them all.”
— Joelle Charbonneau, New York Times-bestselling author of the Testing trilogy

“Turner’s knotting of plots and counterplots, battle tactics, diplomatic skullduggery, and the tensions of state business and personal desire is masterful…having finished the book, one just wants to open it up and read it again.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

“Turner’s plotting remains deft, and the subtlety with which she balances her characters’ inner and outer worlds will delight both newcomers and fans, who will be waiting to grab this stand-out, stand-alone adventure, filled with all the expected intrigue and political machinations, from the shelves.”
Booklist (starred review)

“Turner’s imagined world [is] a realm in which her founding mythology is as impressive as her descriptions of the land itself.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Unmissable.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“A well-constructed and intricate tale of action, adventure, and assuming the mantle of leadership.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Elegant and sure-footed.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Masterful.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

“A fascinating and beautifully crafted masterpiece.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (starred review)

Greenwillow Books, 9780062642998, 368pp.

Publication Date: February 28, 2017



About the Author

Megan Whalen Turner is the New York Times–bestselling and award-winning author of five stand-alone novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief. Return of the Thief marks her long-awaited conclusion to the epic and unforgettable story of the thief Eugenides—a story more than twenty years in the making. She has been awarded a Newbery Honor and a Boston Globe–Horn Book Honor and won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Young Adult Literature. She has twice been a finalist for the Andre Norton Award and won the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature. www.meganwhalenturner.org