A Curious Menagerie (Hardcover)

Of Herds, Flocks, Leaps, Gaggles, Scurries, and More!

By Carin Berger, Carin Berger (Illustrator)

Greenwillow Books, 9780062644572, 40pp.

Publication Date: June 11, 2019

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Summer 2019 Kids Indie Next List

“As a child, one of my favorite topics to ask about was the collective nouns for groups of animals. This book gathers some of the more interesting ones into a list, with amusingly literal illustrations of various animal groups, such as a ‘business of ferrets.’”
— Gwendolyn Baltera, Buttonwood Books and Toys, Cohasset, MA
View the List

Description

From a flamboyance of flamingos to a mischief of mice, this gorgeous picture book introduces readers to sixty collective animal nouns in a fun and unusual way!

Illustrated with show-stopping collage art by acclaimed author-illustrator Carin Berger, A Curious Menagerie is a delightfully engaging read-aloud sure to delight and expand vocabularies.

In this extraordinary picture book, acclaimed and award-winning author-illustrator Carin Berger introduces readers to sixty unusual and engaging collective nouns, from an ambush of tigers to a loveliness of ladybugs.

With stunning collage artwork and a playful and educational text, this is a perfect choice for storytime as well as bedtime sharing. A Curious Menagerie is just right for fans of Peter Reynolds and Mac Barnett. A note about the origin of the collective nouns featured in the book is included.



About the Author

Carin Berger is an award-winning designer and illustrator. Her cut-paper collages are made using ephemera, such as catalogues, old books, receipts, letters, and ticket stubs. In a starred review, Kirkus said of her Forever Friends, “Sophisticated, sensitive, and accessible, this picture book will offer new insights and pleasures with each season.” The Little Yellow Leaf was a 2008 New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books selection, and in starred reviews, Publishers Weekly called her A Perfect Day “lovely” and her Finding Spring “exceptional.” She is also the illustrator of the acclaimed Stardines Swim High Across the Sky and Behold the Bold Umbrellaphant, both by Jack Prelutsky, among other books. She lives with her family in New York City. www.carinberger.com



Carin Berger is an award-winning designer and illustrator. Her cut-paper collages are made using ephemera, such as catalogues, old books, receipts, letters, and ticket stubs. In a starred review, Kirkus said of her Forever Friends, “Sophisticated, sensitive, and accessible, this picture book will offer new insights and pleasures with each season.” The Little Yellow Leaf was a 2008 New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books selection, and in starred reviews, Publishers Weekly called her A Perfect Day “lovely” and her Finding Spring “exceptional.” She is also the illustrator of the acclaimed Stardines Swim High Across the Sky and Behold the Bold Umbrellaphant, both by Jack Prelutsky, among other books. She lives with her family in New York City. www.carinberger.com



Praise For A Curious Menagerie: Of Herds, Flocks, Leaps, Gaggles, Scurries, and More!

“Collective nouns are the singular focus of this straightforward picture book. . . .Lovely collage illustrations, featuring playful use of shapes and patterns in sophisticated color palettes.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“The lighthearted, layered illustrations and alliterative text make studying grammar almost as much fun as that barrel of monkeys depicted in the final spread!”
— Booklist